goals · holidays

So Long, 2014!

Looking back, I’d have to say 2014 was better than 2010, 2011, and 2013. And it was a hell of a lot better than 2012, the year Don had his heart attack. No pets, friends or immediate family members died. No one had stroke or heart attack. We actually had a vacation. No one got expelled or fired (only because I don’t have a job to be fired from). No speeding tickets, IRS audits or car crashes. My mom had two surgeries but both were successful and she’s feeling better than she has in years. We didn’t get burglarized, mugged or carjacked. We didn’t even have any baseball drama to contend with, which was a first. All in all, it was a pretty peaceful year. Sure, our kitchen self destructed, but, thanks to the budgeting plan we started early last year, fixing it didn’t put us into debt.

Goal-wise, the year wasn’t quite so positive. I don’t have to look back at my goals for the year to realize that I didn’t achieve any of them, not even my main goal, which was to finish my course in herbalism. I didn’t even get halfway there: out of ten assignments, I only submitted four. But that’s okay. My goals were stupid. Just as I’ve recently realized that expecting myself to be merry and jolly and all that crap for the whole holiday season is unrealistic, I’m realizing that expecting myself to achieve goals when I’m still struggling just to get through the day is unrealistic. My health and wellbeing haven’t changed much so why would my productivity change just because the date changed? It wouldn’t! I did the best I could with what I have and that’s all anyone can do.

My feeling as this year comes to a close is one of gratitude. I’m thankful for all the love in my life, in all its many forms. I’m thankful for the good health and safety of my immediate family. I’m thankful that we always have what we need, when we need it. I feel very blessed.

15 thoughts on “So Long, 2014!

  1. It’s the Blessings in Life that truly make our lives precious, Trisha.

    The very fact that you got through 4 assignments in your course is highly commendable (with chronic pain and fatigue) I can assure you. Can’t say as I achieved any research, writing in my family history or improvement in my photography, so you beat me ‘hands down’ in 2014.

    The important thing is to be satisfied with what we have (instead of trying to reach unattainable goals). Its the small achievements and everyday moments of joy, that make life with chronic illness a positive one. I find now I’m not working a stressful job, that life is so much easier and for that, I’m eternally grateful.

    1. You’re so right – the important thing is to be satisfied with what we have. I am glad you’ve found more peace and happiness through not having to work such a stressful job. Stress is something we all need less of, especially with chronic illness.

  2. Oh, dear, your goals were not stupid. Overly-optimistic perhaps, not entirely realistic given your limitations, but they were hopeful. I’m glad you’ve decided not to punish yourself by feeling bad about not achieving them, yet.

    You can keep them as goals if they are important to you; just don’t put any dates on them. That’s what I do. I think something is going to take me a year; it turns into 5 years. And that’s okay. Wishing you a happy New Year, filled with gratitude and peace. ❤

    1. My goals were definitely overly optimistic! Not putting dates on goals is a great idea. Wishing you a year filled with gratitude and peace as well!

Leave a Reply

