goals

Daydreaming of the Year Ahead

I always spend the first few days of January staring at my calendars, wondering what things will be like each month and season. I wonder things like: Will we get any snow this winter? Will I make it through without any of those weird hypothermic episodes? Will my first baseball-free spring in seven years suddenly be snatched away by Daniel making the high school baseball team? (God forgive me, but I selfishly hope not.) Will it be scary teaching Daniel to drive? Will we get to go anywhere new this year?  Will we make it through the year without any appliances or cars self-destructing? Will we get to take a vacation that doesn’t involve one of the kid’s sports?

I keep mostly keep myself in denial about the bad possibilities, like how our dog is at the upper end of her life expectancy or that our furnace is way past its expiration date. Thinking of negative things looming ahead is depressing and I’m not in the mood to be pessimistic, as shown by my whimsical calendar choices this year.

IMG_3311

This year, I’ll be looking at child-like animal drawings on my bulletin board and the goofy owl drawings in Debbie Mumm’s Hootenanny Owls 16-Month Weekly Engagement Planner, which I chose both for the colorful (and goofy) owls and because there is only room for a few daily and weekly to-dos. I’m setting my expectations of productivity very low for the year. Instead of yearly goals, I’m going to set small monthly goals. My interests and energy levels are just too changeable to plan out an entire year.

With that said, I do have a few vague goals for the year. I’m getting a new camera (the Sony a5000, an entry-level mirrorless camera) and I plan to learn how to use it and how to take better photographs in general. I also plan to finish my course in herbalism, lose some weight (I’m focusing on amounts on a monthly basis) and see friends more often. Without definite numbers on these things, there’s a much greater chance for success. Mostly, I just want to be grateful and happy, and I’m off to a good start in that. Daydreaming about the year is fun!

9 thoughts on “Daydreaming of the Year Ahead

  1. Those are very cute calendars 🙂
    I’m just taking things a day at a time. After what happened in 2014, I’m not sure if I’ll ever be able to look forward again. But that’s ok. One day at a time is cool 🙂

    1. I’m hoping my camera will be enough of of a upgrade for me since my budget was so small. It should be since most of last year I took all my photos with a snapshot camera with a meager 7.2 megapixels. I’m a little nervous because my last upgrade turned out to be disappointing and frustrating.

Leave a Reply

