Share Your World · Uncategorized

Sharing My World 2015 – Week 1

The boys went back to school Monday morning and I’ve felt strangely unsettled and adrift ever since. I was happy to have Christmas over but I guess I wasn’t ready for winter break to be over. I liked having the boys home. After two weeks of having them around constantly, the sudden silence and stillness in the house is uncomfortable rather than peaceful.

Adding to my unsettled feelings, we have a coyote running around the neighborhood again. I saw it last night when I was taking the garbage out and several neighbors have also spotted it. I locked the cat door so the cats couldn’t get out and had two very angry kitties in the house. There was a lot of yowling, door scratching, blind banging and glaring going on. Scooby even growled at me when I tried to pet him! This morning, Trouble decided to let me know how displeased he was by repeatedly running over me while I was trying to sleep. Frosty didn’t seem to care but he may have forgotten we have a cat door. At seventeen, he seems confused most of the time, although he’s clever enough about finding new ways to make me want to pull my hair out. Yesterday, he managed to poop inside, outside and on the litter box all at the same time.

Anyway, enough about my cat problems and on to this week’s Share Your World. 

How do you get rid of pesky phone calls from telemarketers? We just don’t answer the phone. Anyone who calls our home phone gets the answering machine.

What are you a “natural” at doing? I used to feel like a natural at typing. I was pretty good with both speed and accuracy back in my days as a medical transcriptionist. Now my fingers aren’t limber enough to be very fast.

How often do you get a haircut? Once or twice a year. I have a major aversion to salons. I hate getting a haircut almost as much as I hate going to the dentist.

What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you hear the word “fun”? ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….Um……….Hm…….. My mind seems to have no specific associations for that word! I think, for me, fun is something that just comes along spontaneously. I don’t really know what I would plan if I were trying to make fun happen.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?  Last week I was grateful to have the boys home for winter break and grateful that I could be home with them, even though they didn’t really hang out with me or anything. I realized that I will only have kids on winter break three more times, and only one kid at that. The thing I’m looking forward to most this week is getting my new camera. It’s supposed to be here on Friday. I’m so excited!

15 thoughts on “Sharing My World 2015 – Week 1

  1. My father was in law enforcement so in the days before caller ID, all calls got screened by the answering machine. Voila, never had a problem with sales calls then either 😀

  2. Mitch and Zoe get angry like that too, when we lock the catflap. Bless em. Better that than a run in with a coyote tho!!
    I hate going to the hairdressers too!! It baffles me how people can go every 6-8 weeks. Are they mad? Or is it us who are the weird ones ? o_O xx

    1. I wonder the same thing! I’d like to get highlights so my gray would blend in better but the thought of going in every six weeks to touch it up keeps me from going through with it. Every six months feels too often! Sometimes I wish wigs were still in style. 🙂

  3. Yikes a coyote, I’d keep my kitties locked up too! Hopefully it heads somewhere else soon so your boys can go back outside and stop taking it out on you. 😉
    So exciting your new camera comes tomorrow! I can’t wait to see all the lovely images you capture with it! 😀

Leave a Reply

