cats · pets · photos

Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge – You Are My Sunshine

 

DSC01675

When I read Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge entry for the last week, I immediately thought of Frosty, my sunshine kitty. Frosty is the sweetest cat I’ve ever known. He always purrs when petted and his eyes are so full of love it can be rather humbling to look into them.

When the kids were little, I used to sing to Frosty:

You are my sunshine, my only sunshine. You make me happy when skies are gray. You’ll never know dear, how much I love you. Please don’t take my sunshine away.

Daniel, my youngest, would put his hands on his hips and say, “hey!” Clearly, he thought he should be my sunshine. And of course he was, but no one in the family can deny that Frosty could be like a ray of sunshine. We’ve all been comforted by his presence and felt the pure love that radiates from him. We’ve all joked about his healing powers, halfway believing that he really has them.

For seventeen years, he’s been nearby, his white and yellow fur brightening dark corners, his purr rumbling with love.

DSC01669

Now, his light is fading but hasn’t yet been completely taken away. He sleeps a lot, can be a little grumpy and is a source of exasperation more often than comfort. Now, it’s our turn to comfort him, to be his sunshine.

DSC00025
His eyes show more confusion than love these days, the poor old kitty.

Cee's Fun Foto Challenge

 

26 thoughts on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge – You Are My Sunshine

  1. Just gorgeous, Trisha.
    I think animals are far more intelligent than we give them credit for and they know who genuinely loves them and they reciprocate. They know when you’re feeling low and keep near you to care and watch over you.

  2. Aw precious Frosty! ❤ He's so gorgeous with his blue eyes peering out from amidst the autumn foliage in that first shot. I can see why he's been your "sunshine." ❤

    1. He’s always been so sweet, although also naughty in very sneaky ways. With those innocent blue eyes, it took us years to catch on to his evil deeds! But he’s impossible to be mad at.

  3. I love this story of a pet who walks a span of life with its humans. We had a cat growing up. His name was Rutherford. He was born when I was in fifth grade and lived to see my youngest child born. He was a great cat.

Leave a Reply

