Share Your World

Share Your World 2015 – Week 3

DSC00076

We have sun here today! Unfortunately,  I’ve got a sick kid in the house again. Just as Michael started recovering from the cold from hell, Daniel came down with it. It’s nice to have them home, but I hate to see them sick. And I’d really like to get out with my new camera. So far, I’ve only had flowers and cats to take pictures of and both have been frustrating. My new camera shoots macros with the lens fully extended, which is going to take some getting used to, and my cats don’t know the meaning of the word stay. The second I squat down to their level, they come toward me. I guess that’s the downside of having cat magnetism!

When I saw Cee’s Share Your World post yesterday, I thought she had to be mixed up. How can it be the third week of the year already? It looks like 2015 is fixing to fly by as fast as 2014, which I am totally not cool with. I would like time to slow down just a bit!

Given the choice of anyone in the world, whom would you want as a dinner guest? The Dalai Lama. I think being in his presence would be so inspiring. Just seeing a picture of him makes me smile. Of course, I would have to have the dinner catered…at someone else’s house!

When did you last sing to yourself? To someone else? I last sang You Are My Sunshine to my cat Frosty when Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge brought back memories of how I used to sing that to him. I don’t think he likes it any more though. I have a horrible singing voice and Frosty is less forgiving about things like that now that he’s a grumpy old man cat.

If you could wake up tomorrow having gained any one quality or ability, what would it be? At first I was going to say hands on healing but then one of my squirrels showed up with half its tail cut off and I decided to change my answer to distance healing. I wish I could heal everyone’s pain, especially animals. It breaks my heart to see them suffering.

What, if anything, is too serious to be joked about? In general, I think abuse, domestic violence and extreme suffering are too serious to be joked about. In my life, I don’t feel anything is too serious to joke about, but it depends on who is doing the joking. If a joke is coming from a humble person who can laugh at themselves, or at least admit their own flaws, I find it funny. When a joke comes from someone who only jokes about or criticizes other people and never themselves, I just get annoyed. I tend to avoid people who only make fun of or criticize others and I’ve unfollowed many blogs for the same reason. I guess what it really comes down to is the spirit in which the joke is made.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Last week I was grateful that I was able to take care of Michael when he was sick last week. He’s graduating high school this year and I may not have many more opportunities to make him tea and soup when he’s sick. 😦

This week I’m looking forward to my shipment from Vitacost getting here with my Ceriva. I’ve been out for a couple of weeks and the mental fatigue has returned. It’s expensive stuff ($35 for a month’s supply) but it makes enough of a difference to be worth it, especially if I have to drive.

13 thoughts on “Share Your World 2015 – Week 3

  1. I like your thoughts this week, Trisha.

    I too would find the Dalai Lama a great dinner guest and I’ve stopped to writing on all health forums because I found the ridicule and criticism of others unacceptable. I’ve been pretty lucky in mainly following photography blogs whose writers nearly always are upbeat and positive (if they have any writing included with their photos). And the 4-5 chronic illness sufferers blogs I follow are really delightful and caring people.

    Sorry to hear you other son is now unwell – hope he recovers quickly – last year at high school is an important year.

    1. You’d think people on health forums would be compassionate but, nope! Such disrespect and cruelty baffle me so I, too, avoid places where that kind of stuff prevails. WordPress is about the only online place I’ve found where kindness and respect are more prevalent. I’m thinking about deleting my Facebook account. Between all the junk and the arguing, I find it too annoying to spend time on.

      Daniel still felt awful but had to go to school anyway because they have finals today and tomorrow. Luckily, they get out of school early the rest of the week.

  2. I’m totally on board with you on the waking up with the ability to heal thing! I can’t even tell you how often I wish I could heal people (and animals). I had one instance of laying my hands on a friend many years ago and his pain left him, but it returned shortly afterward so it may have been just a fluke or a coincidence. I’ve been attending an online mind-body summit for the past week and one of their guests really caught my attention the other day, his name is Robert Peng and he’s a QiGong master. I ordered his book from the library and I’m gonna check it out. Apparently he offers a course for becoming a QiGong healer, but it’s like $2300. Yikes! Just a bit more than your Ceriva. 😉 But it would be totally cool to be able to take that course. Would also be cool to have dinner with the Dali Lama… 😀

    1. I’ll have to see if my library has that book – it sounds interesting! I took a course in Reiki years ago but I never felt confident that anything was actually happening. It’s very cool that your friend’s pain eased even for a short time! Has the mind-body summit been good? I always sign up for things like that and then never remember to attend.

      1. The name of the book is: The master key : qigong secrets for vitality, love, and wisdom.
        I had a Reiki session with a friend of mine who was in training and didn’t get much out of it, but I do believe there is something to the idea of it all.
        The summit has been really good, but my head is spinning from all the information. *Deep breath* 😉 It’s primarily related to weight loss, but is chalk full of all sorts of healthful information. Some I already knew, and some I didn’t. Here’s the link to today’s session if you are interested… http://www.mindbodyweightlosssummit.com/mbwls-event-day-11/?inf_contact_key=027fe0eb096f54bff3032a085fb8aed76a73ff0c31cf13dff48d9233f4908d71
        I haven’t watched it yet, but I’m sure it will be good. I know what you mean about not remembering to attend, I missed one of the days because I got busy and forgot. 😀

        1. The book sounds interesting. I’ll definitely put it on my amazon wish list. The summit thing sounds interesting too, I just didn’t have time to check it out. I could definitely use some weight loss advice though!

    1. I didn’t know you did hands on and remote healing – how fascinating! It’s definitely something I would like to learn more about. I’d like to find some kind of classes or group, when I build up my energy reserves enough to get out more.

      1. I don’t heal others that much anymore. I will one day again, but I’m saving my energy to heal myself. It is fun to watch others get healed and heal themselves. If you ever want to talk more just contact me through my blog. 🙂

  3. That’s where I’m at too – saving my energy to heal myself. I think that’s probably the hardest healing of all. I tend to think I can just keep going, never taking sufficient time to heal myself. One recent thought I’ve had about chronic illness is that the lesson in it is to learn to care for ourselves. I’m trying to live that but it’s hard!

Leave a Reply

