Share Your World

Sharing My World – 2015 Week 4

I’m in a full fibro crash, so I don’t have the energy for an introduction to this week’s Share Your World post. And I have to warn you, what follows could be just a lot of senseless rambling. Also, I’m very behind on my blog reading, email and comment moderation and, for that, I apologize. I hope to catch up soon.

Where did you live at age five?  Is it the same place or town you live now? At age five, I lived in a trailer on the property next to my grandma’s house in Birdsview, Washington. We lived there for three years while my dad built our house. The trailer was tiny and hideous, but then everything was hideous in the 70’s. All that yellow, brown, orange and avocado green…yuck!  I left Birdsview when I was twenty-two and, although it’s a beautiful place, I can’t see myself ever moving back there.

Me modeling my little brother's clothes in the living room of the trailer we lived in when I was five. Check out the orange shag!
Me modeling my little brother’s clothes in the living room of the trailer we lived in when I was five. Check out the orange shag!

You are invited to a party that will be attended by many fascinating people you never met.  Would you attend this party if you were to go by yourself? No. I hate parties. I wouldn’t want to go even if I could go with friends!

Did you grow up in a small or big town? Did you like it? I grew up in a town too small to even be called a town. To this day, Birdsview is still just a scattering of homes, woods, and fields on the north bank of the Skagit River. Our nearest town was Concrete, which I think had a population of around 1,000 people when I went to school there. Now it’s down in the 700’s! It seems it’s not a popular place to live, although I liked growing up there. I enjoyed running wild through woods and creeks and walking for miles without seeing a single car.

scan0048
The view from my house (the one my dad built for us) in Birdsview. Mountains, trees and relatives were all I could see!

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? At different times, I wanted to be an archeologist, a teacher and a writer. The downside of growing up in a super small community like I did is that there isn’t a lot of opportunity to explore different career choices. One of our lame career days during high school included a visit from a model, like that was a viable career choice! Aside from teaching (and my impractical dreams of archeology), I didn’t have any idea what choices I had.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? From last week, I’m grateful for a partner that was willing to drive me around for hours and hours looking for an abandoned house to take a picture of for a photo challenge. And then say he enjoyed it! What a guy!  This week, I’m looking forward to a (hopefully) sunny Saturday. I would love to take husband and camera out again. 🙂

29 thoughts on “Sharing My World – 2015 Week 4

  1. I just love that last line, Trisha.

    (one of my constant regrets, now living with FM and a severe heart condition, is that as a single person with no car, it’s hard to get out & about to take photos).

    Gee, even a partner to pay my medical bills and rent would be a bonus 😀

    1. Today I’ve got a car and the weather isn’t horrible but I feel like I’ve been run over by a car. I can’t imagine adding a heart condition on top of the run-over, no energy to move feeling. You’ve got some serious strength and commitment to get out to take photos as often as you do!

      1. Well, I haven’t been out that much for about 8 months, Trisha. But 10 days ago I started on Acetyl-l-Carnitine and I feel absolutely rejuvenated, full of energy, no brain fog and totally alive. Right now (let’s hope it lasts), I feel good enough to go back to writing health articles. Still got the pain of course, but my brain actually wants to do things 😀

        1. I’m glad to hear the acetyl-l-carnitine has helped you so much! I just ran out and need to get more. It helps me with energy but I didn’t notice much of a difference brain fog-wise. Maybe I need a different brand.

    1. It’s looking like it’s going to be barns for my abandoned post. All the cool-looking abandoned houses have apparently fallen down. They don’t last long in our soggy climate!

  2. (((((hugs))) I hope your flare up eases soon. They are never fun. Wow, what an amazing place to be a child, all that space and fresh air. I am with you on parties, although if one of my favourite people were going to be there, I think I’d just ignore the bad bits 🙂

    1. I’m so mad at myself because I brought this flare on by overdoing it several days in a row. And now it’s nearly February, which can sometimes be a month-long flare for no good reason. I’m beginning to think I’ll never learn!

      1. Noooo!! That means you’ll feel bad, which will make you feel worse. I know it’s hard because I’m not so good at this myself, but try and look at it another way. You DID REALLY WELL for a week!! A whole week!! Now you have to rest and recuperate so this flare passes, but by thinking positively you’re not letting the fibro get the upper hand.
        I think a nice long soak in a hot bath with some epsom salts and ylang ylang oil is also a good idea 😀

        1. That is a better way to look at it. I did do very well for a few days there! An Epsom salt bath with ylang ylang sounds wonderful! I sure wish I had some ylang ylang oil. It’s one of the oils I keep meaning to buy but never get around to.

          1. Something you could do while you are resting?
            My second choice would be rose, I think.
            I *so* miss having a bathtub at times. I live in an adapted house and we have a shower room, which is great, but a long soak would be bliss. But then, part of the reason we got the adapted house is because I had so much trouble getting in and out the bath.

            1. I’ve got a nice big tub but I don’t use it as often as I should. Getting in and out and keeping it clean just seem like too much extra work most days. It’s much easier for me to pop my heat wrap in the microwave then retreat to the couch with it.

    1. Just the thought of the awkwardness while doing the staring and the foot tapping at a party is enough to give me a migraine, which often ends up being the reason I don’t go!

  3. Thank you for the get well wishes! I’m enjoying this mild/warm weather we’re having but it’s tempting me to get out and do more than I can handle. I’m seeing a few buds on trees and bushes out there!

  4. My husband is a gem but when I want to take photos I’m on my own. Even when we go on walks with the dog he doesn’t like it when I stop to shoot photos. I think I slow him down when I stop to take a shot and he likes to walk quickly.

  5. Hope you are feeling better soon. So interesting to think of growing up in such a small place. My high school graduating class had 750 students! I like the view down that road

  6. I lived in a trailer too, until I was 7. Funny, those yucky 70’s colors are what I’m living in right now as I’m in the process of helping update my Mom’s house. You should see our kitchen… harvest gold… puke! Wait here’s an old post where you CAN see haha… https://ramblingsfromjewels.wordpress.com/2012/06/29/so-anyway-moving-right-along/

    I never knew what I wanted to be when I grew up, still don’t. I’d love to be an archeologist! A model came for career day? Hahaha!

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend Trisha! 😀

  7. Oh my, looking at the pictures of your house was almost like visiting the house my dad finished for us in 1977! Same half wall in the entryway, same curtains and rod in the living room, same color of countertop in the kitchen and the linoleum is very similar too. Your house was nicer though because you had so many cool accessories. Those lamps are wonderful! It’s so fun to look back at past possessions and home fashions. I wish I had more pictures. My current home was built in 1978 so there’s some 70’s and 80’s stuff under the new stuff. When we moved in our kitchen still had the peach and green thing going on. Some of my cabinets are still a pukey peach color inside!

Leave a Reply

