Photo Challenge Entries

Cee’s Which Way Photo Challenge 2015 – Week 4

As Don and I walked around an old neighborhood in Snohomish, Washington this past Sunday, we came upon a house with a most peculiar front yard.

DSC00219

This first photo shows the stairs as they climb through the “yard” diagonally from the street. Check out the cement with big rocks sticking through it. That’s what the whole slope in front of the house is covered with. Bizarre! Imagine how scraped up you’d get falling down in that yard. Whoever did the landscaping there must not have had children…or really didn’t like them!

DSC00220

After the diagonal climb through the treacherous rock field, there were a few turns and some strange fencing.

DSC00221-001

The stairs lead up to this house. It was well-kept but made me think of the movie Carrie, for some reason.

Linking to Cee’s Which Way Challenge.

Which Way

32 thoughts on “Cee’s Which Way Photo Challenge 2015 – Week 4

  1. That old concrete type of path and rockery reminded me of windswept cliffs by the sea (where nothing much grows due to the salt in the air).
    As you say, definitely not a front yard for children.

    1. It does look like the kind of path that would wind up a rocky cliff at the sea. I feel bad for all the delivery people that have to go there. Carrying a package up that would be challenging!

    1. Yes, my new camera but just on the auto settings. Now that I’ve been experimenting with manual settings, I would like to go back to retake all the pictures so I could see the difference.

      By the way, I’m loving Understanding Exposure! Finally, the relationship between aperture, shutter speed and ISO is beginning to click for me. I’m so glad you told me about that book. Thank you!

    1. I love seeing everyone’s pictures, regardless of the quality. It’s so interesting to get a glimpse into other parts of the world. Thank you for stopping by!

    1. I wouldn’t do well with all the stairs either, especially without a hand rail. The little fence looks like just one more thing to get cut on if someone fell!

    1. Oh my goodness, I’m so honored! After I posted this entry, I was afraid that including the house made it not really fit as a Which Way. I’m glad it didn’t seem totally out there! Thank you for including it. I look forward to seeing everyone else’s entries. My week is improving as it goes. I hope yours is getting better with each day too!

  2. Can you even call that a yard? I’m wondering who the landscapers were, I think the homeowners said they wanted a maintenance free yard. It does have a bit of creepiness to it. Good eye and share for that matter.

    Congrats on being featured. 🙂

    1. I suppose me calling it a yard is a bit of a stretch! I agree that the main objective there must have been to make it maintenance free. But still, you’d think they could have come up with something less unsightly!

      1. Hey, I would have called it a yard too and then wondered if that still fit.

        I would think so too. Wouldn’t you want some kind of visual appeal? Maybe they just couldn’t part with what they found when they bought the place? Don’t know what to do with? Who knows… 😉 Still cool to see though, it’s different.

Leave a Reply

