Photo Challenge Entries

Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge – This Land is My Land, Verse 2

When I first read the words to this verse for this week’s edition of Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge, I didn’t think I could come up with anything to fit it.

As I was walking that ribbon of highway, 
I saw above me that endless skyway: 
I saw below me that golden valley: 
This land was made for you and me.
 I’ve roamed and rambled and I followed my footsteps, 
To the sparkling sands of her diamond deserts; 
And all around me a voice was sounding: 
This land was made for you and me.

Sure, we have ribbons of highway, but the nearby ones are too busy to stop for a photo. And endless skyway? You have to go searching for that here in Western Washington! The sky is mostly seen in smallish patches framed by the branches of evergreens. That left me with deserts (too far away) and valleys, of which ours are lushly green instead of golden. Except, it turns out, in the winter!

I found both endless skyway (well, about as endless as it gets here) and golden valley (in patches between the lush green) in the lower Snohomish Valley, just down the hill, a few miles from my house. I took my first ever panoramic photo and another one of nothing. It definitely wasn’t the best vantage point, but it shows what it really looks like in the lower valley. I enjoy seeing everyone’s photos of where they live, regardless of quality, so I’m going to share more of mine. (Don’t say I didn’t warn ya!) We have mud, blackberry patches and dead grass. It’s not always pretty but I guess it is the land that was made for me since I was born here and I’ve haven’t left. 🙂

DSC00199

DSC00193

 

9 thoughts on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge – This Land is My Land, Verse 2

  1. I love seeing where everyone lives (regardless of culture or country, language or religion – well, I don’t like Politics). And as you say, regardless of quality.

    I find the tree shapes, foliage, streets scapes, architecture, mountains, coast and …..just everywhere and everything interesting. (Must stem from having travelled a lot in my youth).

    I’m not much interested in cars, trains and planes though 😀

    1. I’m mostly curious about the landscapes but I like to see the buildings too. I enjoyed your shots of the old part of Melbourne. The architectural style surprised me, although I don’t know what I expected to find there.

      1. I overheard some English tourists talking about the variety of architectural styles in Melbourne one day, Trisha. It’s not until one takes a broader shot of the city encompassing severals buildings that you realise how it changes so much.

        I assume you’re talking about the inner suburban area of Fitzroy that had the old architecture in that post. Haven’t had an opportunity to go back there yet. (medical appoints have taken up some time lately). but will try and get back there soon as I found the architecture interesting too.

        Australian homes and shops nearly all have verandahs (an Indian word I believe) to shelter their entrances and windows in the shade of the hot summers. I notice many English homes only have a small archway. Don’t know much about American or Canadian homes. I notice Scandinavian or areas deep in winter snow have small windows in their homes to keep the cold out.

    1. I’m sure you would have found the perfect spot to feature an old farm against the backdrop! There is a big barn I want to take a picture of but I’m not sure how to get a view of it.

    1. I’ve always thought the Snohomish Valley kind of ugly but I’m beginning to appreciate it more, mostly for the wide open spaces. It gets a little claustrophobic amongst all the trees and houses up in my neighborhood.

Leave a Reply

