Photo Challenge Entries

Cee’s Which Way Photo Challenge – Week 5

On Saturday, Don and I ditched the old ball and chain (our teenagers who never want to go anywhere) and went to a park in the neighboring town of Bothell, Washington.

Called Bothell Landing, the park boasts a few historic buildings (I’ll save those for another post), several bridges and miles of riverfront trail.

I was hoping to capture the bridges shrouded in the fog that hung over us all morning, but the fog cleared by the time we got to the park, revealing another drab, gray day. :/

DSC00410

DSC00421

DSC00411

Our trudge through the chilly air and the gloom was rewarded by the discovery of this brightly colored tunnel. The effect of the color and the light was quite cheerful. Now I know where to go when the gray skies start to get me down!

DSC00419

My main purpose for this outing was to get used to using the manual settings on my camera. I was a little disappointed with myself and my shots because just the day before I read about using a smaller aperture to get landscape shots with clarity and crispness throughout the entire depth of field. Then I went out and used a larger aperture to compensate for the low light. Argh! Not what I had planned! But I guess that’s what practice is for. For me, with my brain fog, it will probably take doing things wrong a few times before I remember to do them right. Hopefully, I can revisit Bothell Landing a few months from now and get new and improved versions of these same shots.

For some very crisp Which Way photos, go visit Cee’s Which Way Photo Challenge entry. My favorite is the path with the long shadows.

Which Way

12 thoughts on “Cee’s Which Way Photo Challenge – Week 5

  1. Personally, if I was using M (manual mode) on my Canon DSLR (and i use it nearly all the time), I would set the ISO first (not Aperture).

    But that’s just me. Took me months to know whether to use ISO 100, 200, 400, 800 or whatever. Sure, I knew that an ISO of 100 would work when there was plenty of light on a bright sunny day.
    But It took a lot of trial and error and hundreds/thousands of photos for me to know when to use ISO 400 or ISO 800 on a dull day.

    Practice at home first. Practice inside and outside whenever you’ve got a spare 15mins. My brain is a bit slow to learn new things these days.

    May I suggest you use your camera on full AUTO for a test shot. Take one shot and then look at what the camera automatically calculated for that particular scene (check the a5000 manual for how to look this up on the back of your camera if you’re not sure). Do these test shots in all sorts of conditions. Bright, Sunny, Darker, Deep Shade, inside, outside, flower close-ups, landscapes, small scenes like gardens and so on.

    If the details, (or exif data), say your camera used an ISO of 800 for the dull cloudy day with very poor light, that will tell you roughly what ISO might be correct for that scene (on that day) when you’re using Manual Mode in the future.

    If I specifically wanted a particular Aperture to get (some, more, most) of the scene in focus, I would probably use Aperture Priority (not Manual Mode) If you’re using Aperture Priority (AV on my Canon DSLR), you Set the Aperture you want to use first ,(and the camera will calculate the ISO and shutter speed for you).

    Also, personally, I don’t remember if someone tells me what to do. The only way I learn is by trial and error……even if it takes me months.

    I got a free 3 hour tutorial at the Photography School (on the 1st floor on my camera shop) when I bought my first DSLR. I didn’t know anything and I don’t think I learned anything 😀 well, hardly anything.

    12-15 months later I was asking some questions in the camera shop and the manager must have taken pity on me (or he saw that I’d spent $$$$ in the store so I was worth keeping happy). He gave me a free DSLR – Part 2 (tutorial). When I did THAT second 3 hour tutorial, I was surprised to discover that I knew 97% of what the tutor said. I had actually learned more on my own than I thought.

    1. I should have started with setting the ISO higher. That part of the equation just floated right out of my head when I got out there!

      I will take my camera out to do some test shots on full auto. That is a great suggestion. I shot on auto the weekend before but I didn’t pay attention to what settings the camera was choosing, I was mostly just getting used to how everything is set up. It would be good to see how high of an ISO setting the camera recommends for our gloomy days.

      It must have been encouraging to realize you learned more from that first class than you thought! I’m that way with some things but learning to use electronic devices is difficult for my brain. Stuff like that doesn’t sink in well. Same with math. My brain just freezes up!

      1. Me too, Trisha.

        My Foggy Brain function is intermittent and new technology does not sink in at all. I feel like I’m in Kindergarten sometimes and don’t know how to add 2 + 2. But I console myself with the knowledge that I got honours in nearly every subject at High School 44+ years ago, so I know deep down that once-upon-a-time (before CFS/FM), I was an intelligent, creative person.

        The important thing is to do the best you can with your current health and circumstances. Everybody is good at something. Its just that finding our best can be a little tricky with health symptoms waxing and waning.

        Finding passion in hobbies and pastimes is a great distraction on those ‘bad’ days. And you’re lucky to have a lovely family with children to support and inspire you.

    1. We are enjoying our sort-of-dates. For so many years, we stayed home, mostly because of how difficult our youngest was to take anywhere. It’s so freeing to leave the kids and their complaining at home!

    1. Thank you! They weren’t as clear as I wanted them to be but I liked the reflections in the water. The tunnel was unexpected. I wish I would have taken some pictures of the talking fish at the end of it. We had to wonder if the painters were high when they painted it!

Leave a Reply

