Photo Challenge Entries · photos

5 Day Black and White Photo Challenge

Day 2

IMG_2639

I took this photo with my Canon PowerShot SX30 IS a couple of years ago near a pond in Yakima. There were many different kinds of ducks, geese and smaller birds there so I’m not sure what kind of feather it is.

The area with sharp focus is smaller than I would like, which demonstrates one of my battles with the Canon PowerShot. If it doesn’t want to focus on something, it just doesn’t do it. It’s a stubborn camera and we’ve never gotten along very well. Just today I called it a…. Well, never mind. My adult content ratings aren’t high enough for me to say. 🙂

Thank you again to Mama Cormier for inviting me to this challenge.

Today I’m tagging no one because nobody volunteered. I think all my blogging friends who participate in photo challenges have already done this one. If I’ve overlooked you and you want to participate, let me know.

There are only two rules to this challenge: Post a black and white photo on five consecutive days, and tag someone each day. Only two rules and I’m already breaking one!

13 thoughts on “5 Day Black and White Photo Challenge

  1. I’d volunteer Trisha, but, its too hot to go outdoors at the moment. I’ve been busy indoors mending some old shirts and other boring chores. Hope the weather changes soon as our garden is looking very dry (despite a few spots of rain & thunder yesterday.

    At least we weren’t hit with the 2 cyclones that ravaged the north of Australia. I feel so sorry for the people whose homes were destroyed and all their possession soaked or scattered. It must be soul-destroying to lose everything but the clothes you stand up in.

    Nice B & W shot. My little old Powershot didn’t always do what I want either. Despite this, I did manage to take a few nice images back in 2010 (before I bought the DSLR).

    I had trouble keeping the camera still and focusing when I used it again last year. I guess I’m used to the heavier DSLR now.

    1. You could always post your favorite black and whites from your archives for the challenge, but only if you feel like, of course! I’ve been meaning to browse your site to look at your older photos. We’ve had nice weather though, so I’ve been pulled outdoors (or at least to the windows) and haven’t spent much time on the computer. Today was nice again, but very chilly. I’m sorry to hear parts of Australia got hit by cyclones. I can’t imagine how horrible that must be.

      I have more trouble holding the PowerShot still than I do any of my other cameras and it’s my biggest, heaviest one. I’ve often wondered if it has something to do with the tip-out screen. I should try taking some shots through the viewfinder to see if that makes a difference. I decided I need to learn to use it better since I don’t have the $ for a telephoto lens for my Sony. I worked with it a little today. I certainly get better shots in manual mode but the focusing and zooming are still frustrating.

      1. Be patient with the weight of your camera. It took me about 3 weeks of constant shooting before I got used to the weight of my first DSLR.

        I’ve found since I quit full time office work and 8 hours in front of the computer back in 2009, that I rarely get the severe wrist, elbow, shoulder and neck pain these days. I’ve learned to pace my activity and body movement a lot. I had great trouble looking through my Powershot’s LCD screen.
        I found it much better looking through the DSLR’S viewfinder. It seemed to keep my neck in better alignment somehow. I can’t put my camera strap around my neck and have to keep swapping shoulders if I carry it over my shoulder for hours.

        In the Botanic Gardens, I usually hold the camera in my hand. Both my camera bodies are perfect for my hand size which makes a difference.

        Wish I lived around the corner and could help you with the focusing and zooming. I have the (dis)advantage of being technology challenged and lousy memory when I started learning about Photography and while I sill have limitations due to poor eyesight, I’ve gradually learned to adapt. I still like manual mode (as compared to Aperture Priority which most people use). I like being able to under-expose a wee bit because I don’t like bright light or colours.

        Having worn contact lenses for over 40 years and sunglasses outdoors (whatever the season), I now find wearing thick glasses a bit hard on my outdoor vision. The sun is very bright in Australia and hard on my eyes.

        The light was much softer in Europe and the UK when I was there many years ago.

        Remember it took me a long time to learn very little, and then one day, I suddenly realised I’d learned a lot about my camera settings. it takes time, especially if you’re technology challenged like me. The important thing is not to give up too early on. Take it slowly and practice as much as you can. Sometimes I even take photos of the TV when a movie is showing at night. It sort of……..helps my reaction time as each scene or angle of the actor changes. Of course I’m single and there’s no one to see what odd things I photograph indoors for practice 😀

        1. It’s like you’re psychic or something! This weekend I got totally discouraged and felt like giving up. I am definitely technology and memory challenged, so that makes it hard already. I bought the new camera because I wanted to take better flower macros and bird and squirrel photos and the kit lens is incapable of both. I’ve done some online research and learned that I probably need extension tubes to be able to get good focus on macros with the lens I have (and I’ve taken hundreds of unfocused macros so I’m beginning to believe the kit lens is incapable of macros without some kind of aid). And bird and squirrel photos are out until I save up for a telephoto lens, so I thought I’d take some landscape photos in the meantime. However, because I need prescription sunglasses to see and don’t have prescription sunglasses yet, using my camera in the sun is completely frustrating. I just can’t see well enough to easily adjust the settings.

          Your words of encouragement are very helpful today. Thank you! And I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who takes pictures of odd things for practice. 🙂

          Like you, I’ve found that I prefer manual mode over Aperture Priority because I like my photos a little underexposed. When the camera says exposure is right, the photos seem too washed-out for my taste. Of course, that means fiddling around with more settings while feeling blinded by the light!

          I think I may use some of my lens fund to buy some extension tubes so I can take macros while I save up for the lens. At least I’d be able to use my camera for one of the things I wanted it for. In the meantime, I stumbled upon a book on iPhoneography and I’m intrigued with what the humble little iPhone camera can do. I may stick to it on sunny weekend outings until I get prescription sunglasses and a telephoto lens. I’ll keep practicing with my new camera though, so when I do get that lens I’ll know what to do with it.

          I hate to think of how blind I would feel in the bright Australian sun since I have so much trouble with our pale northern sun!

          1. Email me direct if you start to feel discouraged again, Trisha. I suspect we might have the same learning curve in many ways.

            I used to get so frustrated when commenters on my old blog kept suggesting totally impossible solutions to various problems. I think it was hard for any healthy person to comprehend the whole concept of chronic pain and fatigue, let alone the fact that I couldn’t see close up. I can last anywhere from 3 to about 6 hours and then I’m really fatigued and can’t think straight.

            I wish I’d bought a camera when I still wore bi-focal contact lenses – it would have been so easy to see in the LCD screen.

            PS After having my 18-200mm Canon lens finally ‘diagnosed’ today, now I understand why I was having intermittent trouble. I can’t sell it unfortunately. So I’ve put my Canon Macro lens on eBay tonight to raise some more funds. I just didn’t use it enough anyway. After 4 1/2 years of Photography, I feel as though I know what I can, and can’t do, in terms of photography subjects.

            PSS. I decided on the spot, today, to buy the lighter mirror less camera and lens(es). I had taken a list of potential camera types and models that I wanted a demo of. All brands. It came down to a Panasonic and a Sony. I’d read dozens of reviews over the last couple of months, so I had a fair idea of what each was capable of.

            They ranged from a couple hundred dollars right up to $3000. LOL. Got to look at the ones I can’t afford (as well as the ones I can). I ended up buying a Sony a6000. Tonight I’m going through the menus and taking photos of movie scenes on TV. Surprisingly, after repeating the dozens of menu items, I already feel au fait with the ‘layout’. It’s amazing. Sony had put out a ‘kit’ for a sale price. I got the a6000 body, the 16-50mm kit lens AND a 55-210 telephoto lens for the same price (as the body & kit lens).

            Sooooooo…….we both have Sony now. After 3 Canons, everything seemed totally alien in the Camera Store, but the very fact that I understood most camera settings and terms meant I knew what each Sony menu item meant (well, except for the movie type stuff which I’ve never attempted anyway).

            I should have another look at your Sony manual online and see if it’s similar enough for me to help you. Perhaps we can learn together 😀

            1. Congratulations on the new camera! I’m so envious that yours came with the 18-200 mm lens! I think the a6000 is the newer model of my camera but I don’t know what upgrades they made to it. I went with the a5000 only because it was $200 off at the first of the year. Unless they made some big changes they should be very similar so maybe we can learn together!

              I’ve found the Sony menu very easy to learn, although there are a lot of settings I haven’t explored yet. I felt more comfortable with the a5000 after just a few days than I did after 4 years with the PowerShot. The setup on the Sony just made a lot more sense to me and is so much easier for me to navigate and memorize.

              The bad part of this: seeing your pictures with the bigger lens is going to make me want it more! 🙂 Seriously though, I can’t wait to see the pictures you get once you take it out for a shoot.

    1. Thank you for volunteering for the challenge! I will tag you tomorrow and I look forward to seeing your photos. BTW, if I forgot to mention it, I love, love, LOVE the house you chose for your Share Your World post. It definitely looks like it could be haunted!

Leave a Reply

