Share Your World

Sharing My World – Week 13

DSC01170

This past week has been all about getting to know Smarty and getting him used to living here. He had a great day on Saturday. Don and I took him for a walk and then he got to hang out in the yard while Don did some yard clean-up. After that time with Don, and the boys going out to play Frisbee and fetch with him a few times, he seemed like he was starting to feel more at home. Letting him get up on the couch seemed to go a long way toward helping him feel at home too. It’s fun to get to know his little quirks.

This afternoon I’m taking him to the vet for a wellness check. I’m a little nervous. He seems healthy but I’ll feel better once I get some veterinary reassurance. I’m pretty sure the vet will recommend teeth cleaning and maybe some other dental work and I’m nervous about that too. I’m afraid it will cost a fortune and require anesthesia, which always makes me nervous.

Anyway, onto Cee’s Share Your World questions for the week!

What was your favorite subject in school? I always liked English. I was good with sentence structure and punctuation and all that and I loved reading books and writing reports on them.

“Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the moments that take your breath away” (George Carlin). When have you had such a moment? I have them all the time, usually inspired by the beauty of nature and by moments of love. The love I see in my pet’s eyes sometimes takes my breath away. They are just so full of love!

DSC02162
One of Baby’s most loving looks. She was such a sweet, loving old girl.

What’s your choice: jigsaw, crossword, or numeric puzzles? I don’t do any of these regularly but I would choose crossword puzzles. Jigsaw puzzles are too cluttery for me and the minute my brain sees a number the gears come to a grinding halt. I can count money and figure out bank balances but, beyond that, I’m hopeless with numbers. Of course these days I’m pretty hopeless at remembering words too!

If you found an obviously abandoned car with $50,000 in the back seat, what would you do? First, I would look around for cameras to make sure I wasn’t going to end up on a hidden camera show. Then, if it seemed like the car had been abandoned for a long time, I would take the money. Then, I would debate about whether I should contact the police until my family talked me into keeping my mouth shut. 🙂

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? From last week, I am grateful I made it to the shelter to get Smarty before someone else could snatch him up. He’d been there for three weeks but had just been posted through Old Dog Haven over the weekend, so he was beginning to get more inquiries. He may have had an easier time adjusting to a quieter home without teenagers but, selfishly, I’m glad he’s here. Don and I love him so much already. Things are moving a little more slowly with the kids because Smarty is still a bit afraid of them but he’s getting more comfortable every day. I’m sure it won’t be long until he realizes it’s pretty great to have four people to love and care for him.

This week, I’m looking forward to getting the 55-210 mm lens I’ve been wanting for my new camera. Don has been selling parts on eBay and had some money built up in his PayPal account so he generously offered to bid on a used one for me. We won the auction on Saturday and the lens has already been shipped. I’m so excited!

10 thoughts on “Sharing My World – Week 13

  1. Smarty seems adorable and I know will be loved. My Shadow (pug) has that look in her eyes when she is cuddled up in my arms which she adores. Thanks for sharing this Trisha. 🙂

  2. Hope Smarty’s vet check went well this afternoon, that’s a great shot of him laying there with the ball, he looks happy. 🙂 And it goes without saying that the picture of Baby is totally adorable. ❤
    English was my favorite subject too, with art and science close behind. Jigsaw puzzles would be my choice – words and numbers are too much thinking work. 😉
    How exciting that you're getting a new lens for your new camera, I can't wait to see the fab photos you snap with it.

    1. Smarty’ vet check-up did go well. No surprises, other than finding out what a handful he is when he’s excited. He had everyone laughing with his puppy-like antics! I can see why he was a favorite at the shelter.

      1. Oh good, I’m so glad to hear it went well! Haha I’ve never had a big dog, but I can imagine it would be a handful trying to manage one when they’re excited. 🙂

Leave a Reply

