Photo Challenge Entries · Uncategorized

A Closer Look

DSC01183

I was excited when I saw the topic this week for Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge was close-up. I love macro/close-up photography! It’s so interesting to see things magnified by the camera lens. Close-up photography allows me to see things I would never notice otherwise. Also, it opens up a world of photography opportunities right at home, no driving required.

Since I already take a lot of flower photos, I decided to challenge myself to take photos of other things. I was shooting some pinecones and this fly landed nearby. I apologize because it’s disgusting. But it’s also interesting. I didn’t know flies were covered in hair. Shiny, iridescent hair. Who knew?

DSC01237

As I was shooting, I discovered one downside to close-up photography in my backyard: it shows how much cat and dog hair is floating around. You can see a piece sticking up out of one of these alder cones.

DSC01276

Using extension tubes made the following tiny cone look huge.

DSC01251

To make up for the disgusting fly and the pet hair, I’m going to go ahead and include another flower photo. 🙂

DSC01609

I took photos of lichen and a couple of other things but they didn’t turn out. I love close-up photography but I still have a lot to learn about it.

Cee's Fun Foto Challenge

 

19 thoughts on “A Closer Look

  1. At school I’m the expert reader for the book called ‘The Fly’. It’s a fun non-fiction book about flies and it’s illustrated in a cartoon fashion. To me your fly is exciting and interesting and a reminder of what flies really look like.

    1. I’m glad to hear that! I was hoping I didn’t make everyone nauseous by including the fly. I found the hairs kind of creepy but the intricacy of the wings is rather amazing.

  2. Lovely lovely, Trisha! Well… except for the disgusting fly. 😉 But even that is super cool because of the great shot you got, very nice! 🙂

    1. Thank you! I’m hoping I didn’t start a trend of fly-o-phobia! I’m finding that some things are a lot less creepy when you can’t see what they really look like. 🙂

    1. Thank you so much! Your words of encouragement mean a lot. I hope you’re enjoying your new place and your new camera. I’m behind on my blog reading so I’ll have to hop on over to your blogs to see if you’ve posted anything new. I’ve been so amazed at the clarity you got with the kit lens!

      1. Nothing new to post, Trisha, except one post on my Living with Nature blog.

        Still in the process of trying to work out how to fit the contents of a large flat into a much smaller one. 2 more car loads to do tomorrow. The hired removalist only did the big furniture and about 35 boxes which were relatively quick last Saturday (so we could save money on moving lots of little bits & pieces which would take longer and my family and I could easily do ourselves).

        Kit lenses get bad press, but it’s not the lens that makes bad images. It’s the Photographer.
        I really found the 18-200mm lens the best for my limited eye sight and health restrictions, so, for the new mirrorless camera, it made sense to try to replicate the lens/body combo.
        I can’t justify spending more money on my hobby without an income to pay for it, so trading the kit lenses and a Canon lens, (which I rarely used), were my way of funding another gear purchase.

Leave a Reply

