Animals · photos

Shorty, is that you?

 

DSC01940

Short tail – check. Performing adorable antics to beg for food – check. But was it Shorty? I wasn’t sure! The squirrel in front of me looked so small. And red.

I put some food out and watched through my camera. The tail was definitely shorter but it looked a little different from the Shorty tail I was used to.

DSC01951

“Shorty is that you?” I always ask the squirrels stupid questions like this. Like, a) they know what I’m saying, and, b) they can answer. I’m sure my neighbors think I’m more than a little nuts.

Finally, he got into his typical Shorty pose and I knew it was him. The way the end of his chopped off tail sticks up right above his head is one of the reasons I find him so adorable.

DSC01948

Adorable, but not nearly as adorable as he was this winter with his winter coat and layer of chub.

IMG_3180-001

12 thoughts on “Shorty, is that you?

  1. It’s funny how squirrels’ fur patterns can get darker and lighter over time. I was sad when the bright red tail one of my squirrels once flaunted changed towards its more natural grey…

    I wonder if they make tail extensions for squirrels?

    1. That bright red tail must have been really pretty. I am always hoping to see color changes in the squirrels. My dad’s neighbor saw a pure black squirrel. It would be so cool to have a pure black or pure white one around. Tail extension could be fun too. 🙂 I’m picturing Shorty with rainbow stripes!

Leave a Reply

