Share Your World · Uncategorized

Sharing My World – Week 18

DSC01924
This photo has nothing to do with my post, I just wanted to show off my clematis blooms.

“Stay on your toes and expect the unexpected!” – This seems to be the motto I should adopt at this time. Nothing seems to be going as planned. Over the weekend, Don, who is almost never sick and never lets a cold or headache slow him down, was very sick and spent Saturday on the couch. Scooby has kept things “interesting” by bringing live rats into the house. Three times over the last four days he’s brought a live rat in. Twice, we were able to shoo him out before he could release the rat but one time the rat got away and Don had to kill it with the broom, necessitating shopping for a new broom. And Frosty…, well, I guess he creates messes so often that they don’t fall into the category of unexpected. Smarty has us worried because he gobbled up a jagged piece of bone that he found on the sidewalk and because he’s taken up a new, disgusting hobby that can’t be good for him. (What is with dogs eating vile stuff?)  Ironically, the cat named Trouble is the only one that hasn’t caused any trouble. Recently, anyway.

Yesterday, I got home from my walk to discover that I didn’t have my key and Smarty and I were locked out. Don had to drive home to let us in. Today we got caught in a downpour and I got soaked all the way down to my underwear. The way things are going, I’m afraid to leave the house, both because of what might happen to me while I’m out and what the cats might to do the house while I’m gone!

I keep hoping good unexpected things will happen like a check in the mail or Daniel getting an A on his math test but, so far, that kind of unexpected hasn’t manifested.

With my pets being so much trouble, it’s funny that Cee has a question about pets in this week’s edition of Share Your World.

What type of pets do you have or want?  Or do you not want pets? After our terrible two and a half weeks without a dog, Don and I agree that we never want to be without a dog. Cats are another story. Don says after these cats are gone, we’re done with cats. Initially, I agreed. (Probably after spending a half hour cleaning up litter that Frosty tracked through the house or feathers from a bird Scooby brought in.) But I can’t imagine not having a cat. I’ve had at least one cat at all times since I was seven-years-old. However, I Don and I agree that having three senior cats at one time is not a good idea. These three are more trouble now than they ever were as kittens!

DSC01667-001
Don’t let these innocent blue eyes fool you!

What was or is your favorite cartoon? I loved cartoons when I was a kid. My favorites were probably Scooby Doo, The Super Friends (or whatever it was called), Casper the Friendly Ghost and Roadrunner. When my kids watched cartoons, my favorite was SpongeBob Squarepants. I still turn it on once in awhile when I need cheering up. I love the absurdity of it.

When you’re alone at home, do you wear shoes, socks, slippers, or go barefoot? I always wear socks at home, with fleece slipper socks over them in the colder months. I dislike wearing anything with a sole. I actually wish someone would invent waterproof socks that would make shoes unnecessary.

Are you a traveler or a homebody?  I’m a homebody who would like to do more traveling. I don’t like to go to events, gatherings or anything where a lot of people will be so I stay home much of the time. But I would like to see more of the world, at least the less populated areas.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Last week I found myself being very grateful for leaves. Everything is so lush and green right now. It’s so beautiful! The leafy trees here do a great job of disguising the ugly of civilization.

DSC01786

This week, I’m looking forward to going out to dinner with my friend Bernadette.

15 thoughts on “Sharing My World – Week 18

      1. My sister’s cats would often bring her mice etc as a present. In a cat’s mind nothing says “I love you.” like a dead rat, unless maybe it’s a live one!

  1. Your clematis is lovely! Thanks for sharing it with us. I, too, am so happy to see those tender green spring leaves. Your cats never leave you with a dull moment!

  2. I would show off your clematis blooms too if I were you. Beautiful.
    All of our 4-legged kids are getting old. Our cats are now about 17ish and pugs well over 10 which is getting old for them. So I understand our frustration we are going through it too.

  3. Stunning photos Trisha! I’ve always wanted to grow clematis, yours are lovely. And gosh what a pretty cat Frosty is. As much as I have any say so about it, I will never be without a cat, but you sure have your hands full there lately with yours.
    I agree someone should invent waterproof socks, I hate shoes…
    I’m enjoying the green too, that leaf photo is beautiful with the water drops like that.
    Hope you enjoy your dinner with Bernadette this week! 🙂

    1. Waterproof socks would be great, wouldn’t they? My feet really hate all shoes except for a good fitting athletic shoe. They get particularly cranky during sandal season. All those straps cutting in…ugh.

Leave a Reply

