Animals · photos

Tipsy is a Boy?

DSC01804

Tipsy, the squirrel with the tippy head that’s been visiting my yard daily for the past six months and that I wrote about here, is finally able to climb up to the feeders and to sit on her his hind legs.

When I saw her him sitting up for the first time, I made an astounding discovery.

DSC01803

Tipsy is a boy! All this time, seeing him every day, and I thought he was a she. (Sorry for the visual. If I were better at photo editing I could have blurred out the evidence.) When I saw the um…stuff Tipsy was sporting, I stood there staring through the lens of my camera in disbelief. I felt like Patrick Star from SpongeBob Squarepants when, after months (or years!) of knowing Sandy Cheeks, the bikini and flower-wearing squirrel, he realizes she’s a girl.

I was also shocked to realize that Tipsy is running around and climbing without any evidence of his past affliction. I also noticed that he is no longer overly chubby, like he was last fall. (Many squirrels with problems are extra chubby.)

IMG_3244
Tipsy, all chubby and tippy, last November

When did all this happen? I guess I’ve been distracted with all the dog and car wreck stuff and haven’t been paying as much attention to the squirrels lately.

DSC01810
He turned out to be a handsome squirrel!

This week, Tipsy, along with all the other regulars, are gone. With the exception of Nutsy that I wrote about last week, squirrels seem to hang around my yard for a year, then move on when the young ones emerge from the nest. I’m glad I finally noticed that Tipsy is doing well, or I would have worried when he disappeared.

And maybe I should worry, although not so much about Tipsy’s well being. A post over at Evil Squirrel’s Nest has me wondering if the adult squirrels disappearing isn’t something more sinister than the normal yearly migration. Read for yourself here!

Makes ya wonder! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Tipsy is a Boy?

  1. I have read before that squirrels generally only show off their…. um…. “secret stash” around mating season. The rest of the time, it’s hard to tell the boys from the squirrels. I have one good picture of a squirrel and his nuts, but that one of Tipsy tops it. But with all the squirrels AWOL, I guess he’s all dressed up with no place to go…

    1. Poor guy, it does seem he’s a little late for mating season. Although sometimes I wonder if it goes on year round here. Maybe there’s a batch of summer babies on the way!

      I didn’t know that about squirrels (that they only show their stuff during mating season). Very interesting!

  2. Are you sure Tipsy is the same Tipsy? I have trouble telling squirrels apart. These are great captures, Trisha, I especially like the last one. You sure have a knack for photographing squirrels.

    1. I guess I can’t be a 100% sure it is the same Tipsy! The squirrels are all looking so much more alike now that they’ve shed their winter coats. It did seem like Tipsy though. I hope it was. I’d like to think he’s recovered.

      Jasper, the jay with the hurt wing was here today, which made me happy.

Leave a Reply

