Photo Challenge Entries

This Way to Bliss

DSC02863

Last Thursday was my 45th birthday. I had a ton to do to get ready for having a little graduation party for Michael at my house but I decided to blow all that off and indulge myself by doing what I wanted to do. I spent the morning leisurely drinking coffee and reading blogs without a thought of vacuuming up dog hair, cleaning toilets or worrying about whether Daniel should quit his baseball team to join another one. After lunch, I treated myself to an iced caramel macchiato and a trip to two nurseries down in the valley, McAuliffe’s Valley Nursery and the Antique Rose Farm.

DSC02864

DSC02905

There, I wandered garden paths, basked in the fresh breeze blowing through the valley and took photos. It was an hour or so of pure bliss which carried me blissfully through the rest of the day and blissfully through graduation on Saturday.

Since Thursday was Michael’s last day at his tech school, I had to wait for him to get home with my car and I didn’t make it out of the house until the sun was too high in the sky and the light too direct and harsh to get good photos. None of my garden path photos turned out how I wanted but I’m glad because now I have a good excuse to go back!

DSC02891

Linking to Cee’s Which Way Photo Challenge

10 thoughts on “This Way to Bliss

  1. What a perfect way to spend one’s Birthday.
    I’m a great believer in indulging oneself in what one loves best, not what family or friends might love best.

    1. I agree! I think the secret to bliss is finding what makes your heart sing and doing it often. I’m finding for me it’s spending time down in the wide open spaces of the valley.

  2. Happy 45th Birthday. 😀 I remember well, but won’t go into it, because I was in the hospital. Your which way photos are fabulous this week. Thanks. You have such a great year ahead of you. 😀

    1. Sorry your 45th wasn’t a good experience! I hope birthdays since then have made up for it. My 13th and 30th are the ones that stand out as unhappy birthdays.

Leave a Reply

