photos · Share Your World

Sharing My World – Week 27

DSC02695

The hot, dry stretch of weather continues on here in the Pacific Northwest, although today we’re getting a bit of a break from the heat with hazy skies and a predicted high of “only” 83 degrees. The heat is supposed to make a comeback tomorrow and Thursday though, which makes me very grumpy. I’m really, really tired of it. We desperately need some rain and I need some cool, refreshing air to give me some energy because I’m getting more and more behind on everything. My house is dirty. Laundry is piling up. Dishes are piling up. Weeds are overtaking my backyard. Thank you cards for graduation presents need to be mailed. And all I want to do is hide in the air-conditioned sanctuary of my bedroom and play Plants Vs. Zombies!

Instead of doing any of that, I will answer Cee’s questions for this week’s edition of Share Your World. Then, it’s back to laundry. Or, zombies. 🙂

What is your favorite month of the year? October is my favorite month. I love October! I love that the threat of really hot days has passed for another year. I love the deeper blue of the October skies. I love the red, yellow and orange of the changing leaves. I love the chill in the air in the mornings and evenings and I even love the noticeable shortening of the days. I love putting up my fall decorations and seeing pumpkins and scarecrows in people’s yards. I love knowing Halloween is approaching, even though it’s not really fun anymore since my kids are too old to go trick-or-treating. I love ghost cookies, spiced cider and all those other fall flavored treats. October is the best!

01f112e6750ca9084250fe04027e4b2ffee6184d43

July is my least favorite month. I can’t really think of anything that I love about July, except turning the calendar page to August at the end of it.

Do you drink coffee at all? Oh, yes. I have an unfortunate addiction to coffee. I love coffee, even though I know it’s bad for my fatigued adrenal glands, my already-too-amped-up nervous system and my stomach acid issues. My favorite coffee is Trader Joe’s Peaberry Coffee made in my French press with a splash of half and half and some sugar. I get a latte from Starbucks every once in awhile, not really because I love their coffee but because we have so many bikini baristas around here that I’m afraid to stop at an unknown espresso stand.

What was one of your first moneymaking jobs (other than babysitting or newspaper delivery)? My first real job was at Ross Lake Resort as a housekeeper. It was a blast! The whole resort is built on docks that float on Ross Lake, which is way up in the Cascade Mountains. You can’t get to the resort by driving, you have to hike a mile up to the highway or take a boat up Diablo Lake, then a truck up and over the hillside above Ross Dam and another boat across Ross Lake. I loved the isolation and being surrounded by mountains. I even loved doing laundry there in the old machine with two wash/rinse tubs and a separate spin tub. I worked there the summer of 1988 and the summer and fall of 1993.

List:  If you play video/computer games list 5 games you like?  The first video games I liked were the Spyro the Dragon games for the PS2. I played those with the kids all the time until we replaced the PS2 with the Xbox. I loved hopping and flying around as Sypro, finding gems and flame-breathing enemies. I also enjoyed joyriding in some of the early Need for Speed games. I like matching games, like Candy Crush, Monster Busters, and Farm Heroes, but I quit playing them once they get too hard. My current favorite game is the original Plants Vs Zombies. Every once in awhile, Don and I go through a spell of playing it again and we spent many hours battling zombies over the 4th of July. It was just too hot to do anything else.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I’m grateful baseball season ended last week.  The boys went out of their end-of-season league tournament on Sunday. Now, there are just a few practices and a tournament in Yakima later this month. I’m so glad. Being on the go so much is just too hard on me. This week, I’m looking forward to having a baseball-free weekend. Two days, no sitting at a baseball field…freedom, at last!

10 thoughts on “Sharing My World – Week 27

  1. Love your photo of the fall leaves and the sun’s rays peeking through the branches. Interesting rainbow effect. Fall is my favourite also.

  2. Love the fall photo. September is my favorite by far. I have been grumpy and whiny due to the heat, and the only thing I’ve done for the last three weeks is sit in front of my fan, pining for rain. I’ve worked as a housekeeper also, at Sun Valley Resort. Your experience sounds even more unique though.

    1. September is a lovely month and definitely in my top two. Some years I enjoy it more than October. I have the feeling that this summer is going to linger far too long into the fall. I hope I’m wrong. An early and long fall would be nice!

  3. It’s practically like October here today… rainy and…. 67 degrees!!?!? On July 7th? Don’t mid the temp, but the rain…… grrrrrrrrrrr…… please come and take all the rain you want!

    1. It sounds like you’re having a typical Pacific Northwest summer and we’re getting the summer weather that you normally have. I wish there was a way to swap weather! As much as an abundance of rain in the summer sucks, we really need it here. And, strangely, I’m so used to frequent periods of rain that I actually miss it. I hope you get some sunshine soon!

  4. I adore the game Plants Vs Zombies. Although I haven’t played it for awhile. I would love the temps to go back to the 70s or even low 80s at this point. 😀

    1. We need that nice, fresh ocean air to push inland. It’s weird that we didn’t get any of that weather pattern like we usually do in June.

  5. Hooray for October being THE best month, for coffee, and for baseball being over! 😉
    I feel ya with the heat. We had some extremely hot and humid weather here over the Fourth, but then it rained the other day and it brought some cooler temps, it was lovely. I heard we might get some 90’s this weekend though. Yuck!
    Lovely photos…

Leave a Reply

