Photo Challenge Entries

The Marshmallow Field

DSC02424

I love getting glimpses into all my blogging friends’ worlds. To me, it doesn’t matter if they are great shots or just a camera phone shot snapped through a dirty windshield from on the road. I like seeing what all of you see. So this week, I’ve decided to use Cee’s photo challenges to show you some of the sights I see on one of my regular routes. (Also, I apparently can’t read directions and I had photos of five things, not more than five, as this week’s theme clearly states! ๐Ÿ™‚ )

The above photo is of a hayfield that I drive by on my way into Snohomish. I’m not sure when hay farmers started wrapping their hay bales in white plastic (I don’t remember seeing this when I was growing up) but it always cracks me up when I see it because it makes the hay balesย look like huge marshmallows.

I hesitated to use this photo because it’s not very sharp but my eyesight isn’t great anymore so this is how I see it!

DSC02426

This shot is of the same field but looking toward the airport. The dark strip above the “marshmallows” is Airport Road and it’s one of my favorite roads to drive on because airplanes fly right over the road before hitting the landing strip on the other side of it. I wish it were a road that was safe to walk on, not only because I enjoy watching the planes, but because I want to see how the marshmallows are made. They’re so huge and so perfectly wrapped. It must take some heavy-duty machinery to make that happen!

Linking to Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge.

18 thoughts on “The Marshmallow Field

  1. Whenever we’d drive by those hay bales when I was growing up, my Mom and Dad would tell me and my sisters those were “elephant turds.” At that age, I was cynical enough to be somewhat skeptical of this, but just gullible enough that I couldn’t completely dismiss it as a possibility. I still immediately think “elephant turds!” when I drive by them today…

    1. Elephant turds – lol! Your mom and dad were creative! It’s funny that you weren’t completely sure they weren’t elephant turds. I’m sure I would have believed it. I had a pretty vivid imagination. Hm, still do I guess, because I can picture elephants roaming through the fields!

  2. I think it is a lovely photo with a great title! It’s not something I see here. When they cover them with that White plastic here they line them up first and put a large sheet on the whole row. This is much prettier.

    1. Thank you! I like the barn against the mountains, I just wish it were sharper. I think one reason I have problems getting sharp landscape photos is because I keep forgetting to use a small aperture. :/

      I’ve never seen them line the bales up here. One day they’re scattered all over the field and the next they’re gone. Maybe they have to get them in quickly here because we get so much rain.

  3. I’ve seen similar here, never thought about marshmallows but I will now. I’m not sure when farmers started doing this. I don’t remember it from when I was younger. I guess it makes sense if the climate is damp as it is here but not as pretty or romantic as an old fashioned haystack. Love the picture by the way and I like watching planes too although we don’t see too many around here, we’re not on any flight paths.

    1. I don’t remember seeing “marshmallows” when I was younger either. We just had the good old fashioned hay bales that were small enough to pick up right out of the field. They were heavy but I even I could lift one. I’m not sure what they do with these giant marshmallows. There’s no way people pick those up and bring them home for their animals!

      1. I saw some marshmallows when I went by on the bus yesterday but ours are pale green. I suspect that they are done that way so that they can be handled by machines and may even be wrapped by machine. I’ve never seen it done. I still see a lot of the oblong hay bales, like giant Weetbix. Hobby farmers generally still do it that way but I guess you have to get it under cover quicker. I’ve not seen the cone shaped English haystacks since I lived there as a child.

  4. I love the way the background is layered, with those misty mountains in the background ๐Ÿ˜€
    I think you’d like it round here, you know. It’s a very flat county with lots of wide open spaces, fields and a huge sky. There are a couple of RAF bases nearby too where they have special traffic lights to stop the cars on the road for the planes to take off and land, and special viewing areas where you can stand and take photographs of the planes.
    Our hay bales are wrapped in black plastic usually – nowhere near as much fun as marshmallows ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. I think I would like it there too! I never get tired of looking at pictures of the English countryside. I hope to visit to see it in person some day in the not too distant future. It’s great that they have viewing areas to watch the planes take off and land. I would enjoy that. I like watching planes a lot more than I like going on them!

Leave a Reply

