Photo Challenge Entries

Symbol of the Approaching End

DSC03158

Since I hate July, it may seem strange that a flower that starts blooming in July is my favorite. But it is. I absolutely love Rudbeckia, more commonly known as Black-Eyed Susan. They appear in the midst of the hot, bright misery that is July and they make me smile because, to me, they symbolize the approaching end of summer and the upcoming arrival of the harvest season and fall. Sweet, beautiful, cooler fall. My favorite time of year.

The cheery faces of Rudbeckia seem to whisper, soon, soon. They speak of their larger cousin, the sunflower, pumpkins growing on vines, days growing ever so slightly shorter and leaves that will soon be tinged with red, yellow and orange.

Rudbeckia reminds me that this summer, like all the other seemingly endless summers, will, in fact, end. They also remind me that there are good things about summer and that Iย should enjoy those good things before they’re gone.

The Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge: Symbol

8 thoughts on “Symbol of the Approaching End

  1. LOL @ “the hot, bright misery that is July.” We reached a heat index of 105 yesterday while we celebrated Open Streets in my neighborhood. Luckily it was cloudy out, I can’t even imagine how hot it would have been if the sun had been out. I had fun out there riding my bike on the streets with no cars. ๐Ÿ˜€
    Lovely capture! I like your take on it… Autumn = Love โค

    1. 105? Ugh! I don’t know how you could ride your bike in that! I’m one of those people that can barely move if the temp is above 70. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I agree: Autumn = Love. I’m so excited it’s coming! Still a couple months away, but it is coming!

    1. I had to move mine because they weren’t getting enough sun. Now they’re getting crowded by out Bishop’s Weed. And the new ones I bought keep wilting. For a supposedly easy to care for flower, they can be a little picky! But they’re worth it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pretty, and i didn’t realize that was the “real” name. I love those flowers and I like the fact that it can show that there is (eventually) an end to the summer heat and humidity ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. The end isn’t coming soon enough for me. I feel done with summer already. We had some cool, cloudy weather over the weekend and it was heavenly!

Leave a Reply

