photos

Close-Up

DSC03234

I recently bought a couple of these straw-like flowers for my garden but I don’t remember what they’re called. Today, I’m just happy that they are getting watered by Mother Nature. It’s finally raining here!

DSC03258

I know the focus isn’t great on this second photo but, to me, it’s still beautiful. After more than seventy days of no measurable rainfall, wilted plants, dead lawns, nearby forest fires and trees shearing off due to heat and lack of water, I have come to appreciate the beauty of rain.

Lesson learned, Mother Nature. I don’t think you’ll hear many complaints about too much rain here in the Pacific Northwest. Not for awhile, anyway. ๐Ÿ™‚

In response to The Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge: Close-Up.

19 thoughts on “Close-Up

    1. Ah yes, that’s what it is! I even have a pinker one like the photo in the description. I didn’t think of cutting them before but I think I will cut a little bouquet for my windowsill.

  1. So glad to hear about the rain. 70 days is a loooooong time (even in a long hot summer Down Under where I live).

    I think it’s an Everlasting Daisy or Strawflower or Paper Daisy and when I did a Google search to confirm it, (as my RHS encyclopaedia’s photo looked slightly different), the first photo I saw was one the same colour as your flower’s colour – Xerochrysum bracteatum ‘Wallaby Flame’.

    Hard to get rain droplets all in focus unless you increase the Aperture to about f16 or so. That large droplet near the top left looks fairly sharp to me, so I assume you had the focal point on that droplet?

    1. Today on my walk, I noticed a lot of leaves on trees and shrubs turning yellow and many more just looking dead, so the rain is most welcome! Cloudy with light rain is pretty much our normal, so the past few months have been strange.

      Xerochrysum bracteatum sounds kind of familiar, so that could be it. Maybe on some level I registered the name on the tag.

      I did not increase my aperture that much on the rain droplet photo. I’ll give that a try to see if I can get sharper droplets! I’m not sure where I had the focal point….

  2. I always like raindrops on flower leaves. That means the second photo is my favorite despite the focus problem. But the first one is great too, nice red contrast on green, beautiful.

Leave a Reply

