Animals

Little Deer, Fierce Eagle

DSC03387

Deer and bald eagles are really not all that rare around here but I don’t cross paths with them that often. So, when I spotted these little deer at Fort Worden State Park, I made Don slow the car down so I could snap photos of them. They were apparently camera-shy because they immediately started walking away.

DSC03380

While we were walking the beach at Fort Worden, a bald eagle flew past and landed in a tree up on the cliff. Unfortunately, it was too far away to get a good photo and it showed no signs of wanting to move to a more convenient location. This photo is the best of the bunch and the image quality isn’t very good. It does show how fierce they can look though. I have to admit, I wouldn’t want to get very close to one!

DSC03371

21 thoughts on “Little Deer, Fierce Eagle

    1. I’ve seen them closer several times but, of course, never when I’ve had a camera in my hand! I watched one dive for a fish, which was pretty amazing.

  1. I’ve never seen a bald eagle, so to me, it looks just perfect.
    (I have that trouble with both birds and animals – they look your way when the camera’s down and walk, or turn away, when I put the camera in front of my eye LOL. Sometimes I wonder if a reflection in the lens scares them off).

    1. I never thought about it being a reflection in the lens. Maybe that’s it! So many times the animal or bird doesn’t mind me watching but they take off as soon as the camera comes out.

  2. You are right…. with that scowl on its face, I hope there are no squirrels in that tree! Especially since they would probably be laughing and poking fun at his baldness….

    1. I would hope squirrels would hide when an eagle is nearby but they’re such brave little critters that they may not! A few years ago, I had a hawk land in my cherry tree. I was horrified when I saw a squirrel wandering toward it and I was just about to intervene when the squirrel chased the hawk out of the tree. The hawk only seemed mildly annoyed and moved to another branch but the squirrel just kept at it until the hawk finally swooped in to steal a bird off my feeder and went to another nearby tree to eat it.

  3. It’s so annoying that birds rarely pose the way we want them to! Not a bad pic for less than ideal conditions. You got the eye glare and ferocious beak.

  4. I think these are great shots Trisha. The little deer is so cute, and it’s always so cool to see bald eagles, they’re such amazing creatures!
    BTW I like your new layout 🙂

    1. I thought the little deer were so adorable. I wanted to pet them so badly!

      I’m glad to hear you like the new layout. I’ll try it for awhile. I’m still searching for one that doesn’t have something that bugs me. This one has boxes around the photos and uses capital letters, both of which annoy me, but only on my own blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

