Photo Challenge Entries

Just Peachy!

DSC03599

I didn’t have to look far to find something of a peachy hue for Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Peach or Apricot Colors. Frosty, aka The Tuna, was happy to show off his peachy/orangey ears and face stripes and was uncharacteristically cooperative with my photo taking efforts, although he refused to open his icy blue eyes all the way.

I wanted to get a photo of peaches but, when I saw some, I only had my iPhone with me so I couldn’t get that lovely fade-to-blur effect.

0179a8c9c8af44e03dcdf3cbb183011d195c220f6d_00002

Wednesday night, the sky turned a beautiful shade of peachy orange so I drove down in the valley to capture it. Unfortunately, Smarty insisted upon going along and getting him harnessed up and in the car took so long that the peachy glow had faded to a strip of sky just above the horizon and the land was already blanketed in darkness.

DSC03570

This afternoon I went to Flower World to find some peach-colored flowers but the sun was so bright they turned out to be more of a bright coral. So, I’ll save them for another day and instead share the color version of my photo of the Ann Starrett Mansion in Port Townsend.

DSC03403

The colors of the mansion remind me of my kitchen when we first moved into this house. The walls were the color of the trim and the countertops were the color of the more faded part of the house. I like peach. It’s one of my favorite colors to wear. But Peach Formica countertops? Hideous! We painted the walls and replaced the countertops but a couple of my cupboards are still a puky peach inside. Since I plan to move in three years, I’m just going to live with it and leave it as a little surprise for the next owners. Maybe peach and green will be all the rage again by then!

8 thoughts on “Just Peachy!

    1. It’s amazing how fast they disappear and then other times will linger on for a long time. A few weeks ago, we had pink streaks in the sky until 10:00 at night. I kick myself for not finding a good location to set up my camera and tripod!

  1. Beautiful shots! Please don’t let peach and green come back again! It’s bad enough that we’re being bombarded by neon (didn’t like it in the 80’s. HATE it now… it literally gives me a headache and makes me nauseous due to my fibro) that would be just too much 80’s revival for me!

    1. I agree about the neon. Some of the bright colors I see on things are getting way too close to neon, like men’s shoes that are the color of a highlighter pen!

Leave a Reply

