Share Your World

Sharing My World – Week 34

DSC03866
So smoky you can’t even tell where the sun is setting

It seems like half the state of Washington is on fire. East of the mountains, entire towns have been evacuated and up in the mountains there are fires burning away with no one even fighting them. It’s hard to even imagine what it must be like over there and even harder to imagine where all the people who have lost their homes are going to go until they can rebuild.

In the Puget Sound region where I live, the skies were smoky all weekend, the sun taking on a very reddish hue, and the smoke coming down so low I could see it hanging in my yard. I thought I might be able to get a good sunset photo of the sunset reflecting off the Snohomish river but the smoke was so thick on the horizon, I couldn’t see the sun at all. Not even a speck to let me know if the sunset will be in line with the river any time soon.

At my house, the backhoe is still hard at work out on what used to be the sidewalk and my cats are still shedding and puking up hairballs every where. But the chilly air in the morning has brightened my outlook on life. There are signs that fall is approaching. The chilly morning air, the way it cools down in the evening, the sun setting so much earlier and the squirrels suddenly wanting peanuts again after being satisfied with seed all summer. I hope this means they’re beginning to build their winter chub, which is so adorable.

IMG_3228
I so miss their winter fluff and chub!

Before I ramble on too much longer, I’d better get going on Cee’s Share Your World questions for this week!

Was school easy or difficult for you? How so? School work was easy for me until middle school when algebra was introduced. Socially, school was an anxiety-filled time for me. I always struggled with feeling like an outsider. I still often dream of the old Concrete grade school, where I went to school until 5th grade. I spent so many anxious, unsure-of-myself hours there.

021
The last time I saw my old grade school, it looked like this. The time before that, it was on fire!

What is your favorite animal? I love both dogs and cats, although I think maybe I love dogs a little more deeply. (Don’t tell Scooby!) As for wild animals, it will come as no surprise that squirrels have wormed their way into favorite status in my heart. 🙂

DSC01346-001
There’s just something extra loveable about dogs!

If you had to have your vision corrected would you rather: glasses or contacts? I guess glasses, since that’s what I’ve been wearing for the past couple of years. I think my eyes are too dry for contacts and sometimes I get a bubble on my eye, which probably wouldn’t be good with contacts. Still, when my glasses are digging into my head behind my ear, I’m tempted to try contacts!

List:  Name at least five television shows (past or present) you enjoyed? I’m such a history drama geek!Some of my favorite shows this past year have been Vikings, Turn and Downton Abby. Of course, I also love my zombies so The Walking Dead has been a favorite of mine for a long time. In the past, the X-Files was my favorite show and I’m really excited Mulder and Scully are coming back to Fox for a short return!

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Last week I was so ridiculously grateful for the cool morning temperatures! This week I’m looking forward to time with my friend Bernadette. We’re having lunch this afternoon. I’m also looking forward to the rain showers we might get next weekend. I never thought I would say this, but I really miss rain!

8 thoughts on “Sharing My World – Week 34

  1. I’ve worn very thick glasses since the age of 7 (when my eyesight overnight). I wore contact lenses from the age of 16 – 56 and now, I have corneal exhaustion and my eyes don’t make tears normally, so my eyes get stuck together over the sleeping hours and I need moistening drops even morning.

    Contact lenses were the best thing ever for a shy, introvert like myself (as a teenager). They opened up my world and gave me the confidence to be social, assertive and travel. Now I’m back to very thick spectacles and happy to be solitary and shy again. It compliments my health symptoms. I’m sure I would have been a much better photographer if I’d taken the hobby up when I still wore contact lenses 24/7 – I could have seen much better through the (camera) lens.

    Great shot of that squirrel – he/she is adorable and so cute.

    1. Contact lenses seem like a great thing for younger people. I’m sure I would have worn them if I had needed glasses at a younger age. I’ve had bouts of severe dry eye at night so I think I may have had a small taste of what you experience. It’s horrible to wake up and not be able to blink! It felt like someone poured sand in my eye while I was sleeping.

  2. I’m loving the chilliness too! I haven’t had to run the AC in several days,and it’s almost been too cool to drive with the car window down in the morning. More 90’s coming, though… yeah, there’s still another four weeks of that dreaded S word!

    1. I’m happy to hear the chilliness is returning to your area too. It’s so wonderful!

      I’m in denial about there being four more weeks of the dreaded S word. I’m telling myself it’s over in two weeks when school starts back up. I can face two more weeks. I guess. If I have to. But, either way, we’re getting there! I’m going to go ahead and roll out the welcome mat for fall!

    1. I’m glad to hear your skies finally cleared up! I think ours were free of smoke yesterday but it was hard to tell because there were high clouds. Today it’s definitely clear. Hopefully we can keep that onshore flow going until the fire danger has passed!

  3. My goodness. First the mysterious blob, now the fires. I wonder when we humans are going to figure out how much we’re screwing up the earth. I wear glasses now. I hate them. They’re always dirty, they slide down my nose and squeeze my head at the same time. I would definitely go for contacts or laser surgery. That dog looks so hugable!

  4. The weather is crazy this year! I’m hoping it’s just part of a cycle that will flip back the other way and we’ll have a few years with cold, rainy summers. But, I worry it’s more.

    I feel the same way about my glasses. They’re always dirty and uncomfortable. Sometimes I think the weight of them on my nose and ears is what causes some of my headaches.

    Smarty (the dog) is very huggable! I hug him all the time and he seems to like it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

