Animals

We have a baby!

DSC04792

One thing that is a little disappointing about squirrels is that they don’t often show themselves until they are nearly full grown, at least in my yard. (And maybe wisely so, given how Trouble reacted to that little red squirrel.) Over all the years that I’ve lived so closely with squirrels, only a few times have small, most-definitely baby squirrels appeared in my yard. They usually show up when they’re right on the border between teen and adult.

So, I was ridiculously excited when I spotted a baby in the birch tree on Sunday. I tried to get photos but the little guy (or gal) was having such a hard time with traction that I couldn’t catch it still enough. It tried to go down the trunk of the birch head first, which lead to it skidding down the trunk and landing sprawled out in a leafy bush below. Then it scampered across the yard and disappeared.

Yesterday it, or another one, came back. I saw it skid down the fence and into the yard and it headed straight for the seed under the bird feeder. I held my breath as Tipsy approached it because I was afraid he would chase it away. I needn’t have worried! The baby threw itself in the air, legs flailing every which way and Tipsy ran off. The baby continued calmly to the seed and started chowing. I watched as another squirrel approached very cautiously, obviously curious about this strange, small newcomer.

DSC04785

This squirrel watched for a minute or two, then crept around behind the phlox and approached the baby. I caught the moment they sniffed noses.

DSC04786

Then the big squirrel joined the baby in chowing on the seed.

DSC04794

I went quietly out on the deck to get a little closer and I think the baby looked my way but didn’t run off. I didn’t try to get close enough to get a real clear shot because I didn’t want to scare it away.

I’m so excited to have a baby in the yard!

Here are a few more baby pictures from past years.

IMG_1482

IMG_0827

IMG_2682

Aren’t they just the cutest little things?

30 thoughts on “We have a baby!

  1. Reblogged this on Evil Squirrel's Nest and commented:
    I was extremely fortunate to come across Trisha’s blog Shedding Light earlier this year via Sheena’s sidebar. She is the only other person I’ve come across on WP so far who seems to love taking pictures of squirrels as much as I do! If you love my squirrel shots, do yourself a favor and follow her as well! Oh, and of course be sure to check out the awesome baby squirrel photos in this post I’ve reblogged!

  2. OMG, so cute!!!!!!!! Especially the rubbing noses picture!!! I reblogged this post… I just had to! I hope you don’t mind. This is the perfect post for me to help promote a fellow squirrel photographer!

    1. Of course I don’t mind. Thank you for sharing baby squirrel cuteness with more people! After you mentioned baby squirrels after my post about the nursing mothers, I really, really hoped this would be a year that the babies made an early appearance so I could share a baby photo. I’m hoping it will venture up on my deck before it’s all grown up so I can get some close-up shots. I accidentally scared it away today though. 😦

  3. Bebe! So cute!

    I am sure they are telling him “that’s the lady with the corn and the sunflower, no need to run from her!” 😀

  4. What a great experience. Those baby squirrels are just too cute for words.

    Wish I was there to see them in real life.

    (So we both had a thrilling sighting 🙂 )

  5. Squirrels are so cute, but when they are so little, there is no word anymore for the cuteness 😀 Great photos Trisha, you surely get a lot of squirrels in front of your camera 🙂

    1. I’ve probably been a little too successful at attracting squirrels to my house! There are so many, more than I’ve ever had feeding here before. It provides a lot of photo opportunities but they’re going through so much food!

    1. Yeah, the scrawny tail is usually how I recognize the young ones. It’s odd that these babies have such bushy tails. It ill be interesting to see if they go through a scrawny phase when they get a little bigger.

    1. I am grateful that I was there to see them making friends like that. Yesterday, most of the adults tried to chase the babies away. I wanted to go out to protect the babies but the babies are scared of me and the adults aren’t, so my intervention wouldn’t help!

    1. Thank you! I’m glad to get a baby fix because I’ve had kittens on my mind lately. Seeing the baby squirrels helps, although I still find myself thinking of kittens often!

  6. How wonderful to have squirrels in your yard! I think I would get nothing done if I had squirrels in my yard :). So adorable and cute! Squirrels were one of my favourite animals I saw on my Canadian Rockies holiday in 2009. Thanks for sharing such lovely pictures!

Leave a Reply

