photos · seasonal changes

Changing Leaves

DSC04741

We’re seeing some fall color here but it’s starting in the top of the trees and working its way down. I’ve gone out several times looking for leaves to take photos of but the red, yellow and orange leaves are just too high. Finally, I had the idea the take photos of the green leaves with the fall-colored ones in the background. I like the way some of them turned out!

DSC04742

DSC04744

DSC04754

DSC04759

My weeping birch is turning yellow but the leaves are all spotted this year.

DSC04761

DSC04763

My non-weeping birches, rather than changing from the top down, are getting little patches of yellow.

DSC04758

In this last photo, the background once again steals the show!

DSC04766

So far, autumn seems a bit odd to me with trees changing at different times and in different patterns than they normally do. I guess it’s to be expected after the weird weather we’ve had for the past year but it makes me afraid that I’m going to miss something!

16 thoughts on “Changing Leaves

  1. We went out yesterday intending to take Autumn photos. Absolutely glorious day but only the odd patch turning on each tree. They’ll probably all turn at once – when it’s wet and miserable and I don’t feel like venturing out from a blanket! Great shots here though, love the contrast against the soft focus backgrounds 🙂

    1. That’s what I’m afraid of too – that the leaves will reach their peak during a miserable, gray, rainy week! Hopefully, we’ll have some sunny days sprinkled in so we can get the photos we dream of. 🙂

  2. I love the colourful backgrounds. That was a great idea to use Autumn/Fall as a background instead of a foreground. I’m amazed at how quickly the new Spring leaves are spreading over the trees here in Melbourne. It seems like only yesterday they were completely bare.

    1. I never cease to be amazed by how fast everything grows in the spring and how fast it subsides in the fall. The wonders of nature…they make life so beautiful and full of awe!

  3. I especially like the fourth photo down with the vivid yellow and red behind.

    I was out at parks today and saw dozens of squirrels and thought of you. 😉

    1. LOL! I never thought of that aspect of color blindness before. For some reason, I only thought of it in terms of traffic lights. It would really suck to not see all the colors of fall!

Leave a Reply

