photos

October Walk

DSC05078

A couple of nights ago, Walter Kelley from Q13 Fox News in Seattle ( he’s my favorite meteorologist – he says the funniest things!), said that October is our foggiest month and it certainly started out that way. The first two mornings of October were foggy and yesterday’s fog was very heavy and wet. I found the little water droplets covering everything so appealing that I had to go back out with my camera for a little walk around the block, although the fog had given way to gloomy overcast skies by the time I got back outside.

While some plants are starting to die off, the neighbor’s dahlias are still going strong.

DSC05090

DSC05085

As are another neighbor’s roses….

DSC05102

The spiders are still webbing like crazy too.

DSC05092

The leaves on my hosta have changed color

DSC05112

and the gutters are filling with leaves.

DSC05105

Most of the cultivated maples have changed color and the birches are following right behind.

DSC05109

My house is hidden behind the first red tree to the right in the photo above. We planted that maple when we moved in fourteen years ago and I’m so glad we did. It shades the house in the hottest afternoon sun in the summer and I love its shape and fall color. I wish I could remember its precise name because I’d like to plant another one at our next house.

I expected fog when I woke up this morning but it was already bright and sunny by the time I dragged myself out of bed at 8:30. It’s been a perfect October day and it seems all the more beautiful after having such a gloomy day yesterday. I love October!

15 thoughts on “October Walk

  1. Omygosh these are beautiful photos Trisha! The flowers are gorgeous and I love the leaves in the gutter shot – I can’t tell you how many times when I’ve seen leaves in the street like that and wished I could capture a good photo of them. Nice work!
    What a splendid start to October you’re having there! 🙂

    1. My friend/neighbor has a talent for making little things like leaves on the street look beautiful and I’ve always been in awe of her ability to make the ordinary look so beautiful. This leaves in the gutter shot is the first time I’ve been able to get a shot like this to turn out like I hoped it would.

      October is off to a splendid start here! I just hope our luck continues and the gloomy weather doesn’t settle in permanently before the fall color reaches its peak.

  2. So that is the infamous crosswalk that constantly needs construction. That maple is way too close to where the next planned project will probably be going on. You may want to listen for the sounds of chainsaws next summer… 😉

    At least for now, there is a nice rainbow of colors around Ground Zero!

    1. If anyone comes after my maple tree I will become a true tree hugger and chain myself to it! Same with the huge cedars that tower over the north side of my house. There’s been way too much tree chopping around here lately.

  3. Great photo series. I especially like the spiderweb. (I hate spiders, but they do make beautiful hunting traps!) That’s a gorgeous tree you planted too.

    1. I hate spiders too! The web building ones don’t freak me out as much as the big brown or black ones that get into the house but they’re still really creepy looking. That’s why I chose a vacant web!

  4. Awesome images, a lot of red foliage already… our plants are still quite green, I just spotted a few red leaves, but not much. Your close-up flower pictures are beautiful!

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed the flowers! Yes, everything is changing color fast here. Some of the first trees to change color are already bare. 😦

  5. Beautiful photos. So many people would never take the time to take photos in what they consider less than ideal conditions. You have discovered that the colours are richer and more vibrant on cloudy days and make for very interesting photos.

    1. It’s funny because I didn’t think it would be a good day to take macros! I like the leaves in the gutter shot best too. I’ve wanted to get photos like that for a long time but this is the first one that turned out like I hoped.

Leave a Reply

