bird watching · Photo Challenge Entries

(Extra)ordinary Little Birds

DSC05151

Chickadees are one of the most common birds around here. I see them every day and yet I never find them unworthy of notice. Although not brightly colored or crested or anything unusual-looking, they’re adorable little birds and there’s something about them that always lifts my spirits, as if they are bearers of good cheer.

DSC05156

Chickadees are also remarkably courageous. These fluttered into my birch tree and hopped on and off my feeder while I was standing just a few feet away. They never seem wary around larger birds or squirrels. They just fly in wherever they decide to go, while boldly announcing their arrival with sharp little chirps.

We have two varieties (that I know of) here in the Puget Sound lowlands, the Black-capped chickadee (top) and the Chestnut-backed chickadee (bottom).

In response to the Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge

14 thoughts on “(Extra)ordinary Little Birds

  1. Awesome shots! You got them pretty close. I like to see the feather and colour details, they are cute little birds. Good entry, and funny that we had the same idea to use bird photos for this weeks challenge 🙂

    We have Chickadees in Germany too, but I find it quite hard to get them in front of my lens, they are often hidden in the bushes and you hear the chirps, but I believe they are more shy than yours, I don’t know.

    If you are interested you can see photos of our Chickadees on a website of a German nature conservation union called “Nabu”: https://www.nabu.de/tiere-und-pflanzen/aktionen-und-projekte/stunde-der-wintervoegel/voegel-bestimmen/13123.html I think we have nine different types, the ones you mentioned are not common here, but I like how similar they are and that only colours fur and a few other minor details vary between different types of Chickadees 🙂 They are all beautiful.

    1. It’s interesting that you have so many varieties of chickadees and that yours are more shy! I will come back to click on the link to the Nabu site. I love chickadees. They’re such cute little birds and it’s interesting to see the different varieties from around the world.

  2. Such cut little birds and personally, I think all birds are worthy of attention and a shot (or 2).

    I love hearing the different bird sounds down by the river, but am getting continually frustrated with lack of sightings.

Leave a Reply

