photos

Franken Jay

DSC05405

I was quite puzzled when I got this photo of Jasper, the Stellar’s Jay with the floppy wing, uploaded to my computer. It looks like the bottom half of his body got amputated and then his legs reattached.

Then, a week or two later, I saw him shift into this weird position. He was sitting on the deck rail, looking normal, and then he stretched up, fluffed up his feathers and when he lowered himself back down, the bottom half of his body disappeared. I’ve been watching the jays for a long time and I’ve never seen anything quite like this!

Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge

12 thoughts on “Franken Jay

    1. Now that you mention it, I see what you mean about the penguin shape! I’ve always got four or five jays hanging around my house. They like the food I put out for the squirrels.

  1. I wonder if his spine by his tail got injured. You always seem to attract, and therefore take great pictures of, unusual animals… that I have never seen anyway. Kudos to you for paying attention and getting great shots. Do you just have a camera set up on a tripod all the time on your porch or something? I try to take bird pictures but they are too fast for my camera to focus and get the shot, even in sports mode.

    1. I try to keep my camera in my living room so I can grab it if I see something interesting out my slider. I take a lot of the bird shots through the slider (as dirty and warped as it is), although this usually isn’t necessary with the chickadees or the jays. They’re so bold they’ll fly and land very close by! I don’t know if we have an unusual number of injured animals in the area or if they just all find their way to my house.

Leave a Reply

