health · migraines · seasonal changes · Share Your World

Sharing My World – Week 45

DSC05289

It’s very rainy and dreary here in my world. It seems like Mother Nature has started paying closer attention to the calendar lately because our rain switch got turned on right as we entered November, which is often our rainiest month. Probably after all of our complaining about how un-normal the summer was, Mother Nature was like, “fine! You want normal? Here is a normal November for you!” We’ve already had one round of river flooding and it sounds like another round is on the way.

While I’m glad the reservoirs are refilling and the mountains are getting some much longed for snow, the transition from fall to our boring non-winter is hard on my body. I constantly feel like I’m coming down with something and I’m having migraines again, although the migraines I’ve had the past two days could be from the exposed particle board in our house. We’re getting carpet put in the living room, dining room and hallway and Don ripped the laminate flooring out yesterday so much of the house is stripped down to the particle board. The smell of it is horrible. You’d think after thirty-seven years that stuff would be done leaching its noxious fumes into the air, but according to my aching head and wonky vision, there is something toxic floating around in the air.

Now that I’ve been reminded of my tendency to get migraines and be allergic to all things synthetic in November, getting new carpet doesn’t seem like the best idea.

Here is Smarty, missing all the furniture and rugs!
Smarty is missing all the furniture and rugs!

Between the wet weather and not feeling well, I haven’t been able to get out to take any pictures so I thought I would participate in Cee’s Share Your World this week, since I may not be able to come up with anything for her photo challenges.

Here goes:

What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you hear the word “fun”? Skepticism. The things that most people describe as “fun” tend to attract a lot of people and I don’t find being in crowds or social situations fun at all.

What is your favorite time of day? In the dark half of the year, sunrise is my favorite time of day. I love watching the sky grow brighter. There is just something magical about a winter sunrise. Part of this may be because mid-winter is the only time the sunrise is somewhat visible from my house.

My little window to winter sunrises
My little window to winter sunrises

Given the choice of anyone in the world, whom would you want have a evening with? I think I’d better pick my husband, just in case he reads this! Seriously though, I would pick him. We’re equally antisocial so we prefer quiet evenings.

Complete this sentence: Something that anyone can do that will guarantee my smile is… Smile or laugh. I find other people’s emotions very contagious. If I see someone cry, it takes some effort to keep my own tears contained.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Last week, I was grateful to find out what foods I’m allergic to and even more grateful for the ones I’m not. I ate one of those little oranges yesterday (Cuties, I think they’re called) and it tasted better than any orange I’d ever eaten! This week, I’m looking forward to having the carpet installation over with and getting my living space back to normal. I’m going to do my best to enjoy these rainy November days. A couple of pajama days would be nice!

16 thoughts on “Sharing My World – Week 45

  1. Sorry to hear about the bad headaches. Hope the new carpet isn’t as much a problem for you as it would be for me. I guess the only thing you can do is open all the windows and doors to air some of it out – not fun now that it’s colder on your side of the world.

    1. I haven’t had a migraine since the carpet was installed so I’m hopeful that I will be okay with it. I’ve been keeping the windows cracked open and that definitely helps. Although the smell of new things gives me a headache, I have a harder time with perfume and fabric softener and things like that. I can’t even go outside when my neighbor is doing laundry.

      1. I understand what you’re saying there, Trisha. I can tolerate lemon-scented cleaning products but not floral. I had a terrible time when my brother stayed for 3 weeks in my old flat last year. After a few days of his aftershave, I had to ask him to refrain from wearing all toiletries. I had a severe headache and nausea every night (despite leaving the windows & doors open all day. Took 3-4 washes to remove the smell of my spare bed linen. I still had breathing difficulties for a few days.
        Someimes I can go into the city centre ok ,and other times the smell of cigarettes etc sends me back home on the next bus. The more ill & symptomatic I am, the worse my Chemical sensitivity. The year 2004 was the worst for me. Luckily, there are no smells in my new apartment, but the continual dusty atmosphere sometimes makes breathing hard. Must be a dusty or polluted suburb here. Wouldn’t you think the river and parkland would make fresh air?

  2. I LOVE the photo at the top of this post Trisha, it’s just gorgeous! Of course the sunrise one is lovely too – my favorite time of the day in the winter too. 🙂
    I’ve never had one of those cuties oranges, pretty tasty huh? I love citrus, but I’m still in apple mode here.
    Hope your migraines improve and that the carpet installation gets done soon so you can have your living space back to normal.
    Stay dry and enjoy those pajama times! ❤

    1. The Cutie was delicious! They’re more tart than regular oranges or mandarins, at least the one I had. I bought a bag of apples so I really need to get back into apple mode! I’m having a hard time finding good egg-free, almond-free recipes. 😦

      I haven’t had a migraine since the carpet was installed so I’m hopeful that it will be okay. 🙂

      1. Yeah I think it would be tricky to find good egg-free recipes. But vegans must find ways, so there’s got to be resources out there somewhere for healthy egg replacements.
        Glad you haven’t had anymore migraines! 🙂

  3. I like winter sunrises as well since they are usually happening as I drive home from work. There’s a field to the east just before I get to my neighborhood so I can get a look at the sun just peeking up over the horizon at 7:10. With how late DST ends now, I can also see this in late October…

    Anything beats a sunrise around the equinoxes, because then I’m driving home with the sun right over the road at a low angle. Sun visors aren’t going to help any in that situation…

    1. It would be great to be out driving when the sun rises, especially on the way home and not to work! Although I hear ya about the equinoxes. There is a week or two right around the equinox when the sun sets right in line with the main road out of our neighborhood. It’s awful to suddenly be blinded and know that everyone else on the road can’t see either!

  4. Glad you finally got your allergy results. At least you know now what to avoid after your renovations are done and the air clears. Love your photos, Trisha.

  5. Pajama days–YES! Hope the migraines go away–for good! That sounds like my husband, too. He works with people all day, so evening is his time to recover from it.

    1. It sounds like a lot of rain is on the way for the next couple of days so I’m hoping to finally get my pajama days. Although I was tired yesterday, I just couldn’t stay in when the sun was finally out!

Leave a Reply

