Photo Challenge Entries

From Autumn to Winter

DSC06856

Here in the Puget Sound region, the transition from fall to winter doesn’t follow the calendar and occur on the winter solstice. It happens gradually, quickly, subtly and dramatically throughout the month of November.

This year that transition occurred over the last two weeks of November. A street could look like fall one week and winter the next. One weekend the Snohomish Valley glowed with the golden leaves of cottonwood trees, the next it was stripped down to the brown of winter. Since I haven’t yet figured out landscape photography, I only captured bits and pieces of it, like the autumn leaves covered with winter frost in the photo above and the summer succulent covered in frost below.

DSC06783

And then there’s the shot I missed. The flowers and dead seed heads covered in frost demonstrate the concept of transition perfectly but, unfortunately and infuriatingly, I didn’t get them in focus. By the time I got home with my camera and uploaded my photos to my computer, the sun was already shining on this little patch of flowers, melting the frost away. Transition is like that. The individual moments are easy to miss.

DSC06880

Although I love autumn and winter, the end of the transition between them often makes me sad. Looking out my window today, I only see gray skies and the dull green of evergreen trees. Gone are the golden leaves and sparkling frost crystals of three days ago. The transition is complete.

In response to The Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge: Transition

6 thoughts on “From Autumn to Winter

  1. Wonderful photos, Trisha. So true about transition and the photographic moments missed. Happens to me too many times. I glimpsed a beautiful woodpecker feeding on the hanging bird seed in my backyard and of course I didn’t have my camera. He sensed my presence and didn’t stay long. I guess that might be a reflection on life in general. The missed moments. What if…?

    1. Yes, I’m sure you’re right. There are still so many photo opportunities that I mentally kick myself for missing though! Especially with birds. They move so fast and I am so slow.

      1. I agree with birds and other wildlife. I’m not a bird photographer, but it’s all in the timing. I feel like if it’s meant to be, it will happen. Just have to be ready which I’m usually not, so I photograph with my eye and enjoy the gift of being there in that moment. Ha ha! You do such a wonderful photographic work with your backyard friends. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

