sharing

Sharing My World – Week 49

DSC07049

This photo of Smarty in the driver’s seat of Don’s car represents my world so perfectly right now. It’s a dark, muddy photo and there is evidence of rain, which is how every day of December has been so far. Likewise, I feel my mind becoming a darker, murkier place. For a variety of reasons, the holidays do that to me. But in all that darkness a smiley face, so full of love, shines. My pets are what keep me from falling over the edge into the pit of depression. I can’t help but smile while watching Smarty demand a ride in the car, or when I wake up in the middle of the night to find Scooby’s face an inch away from mine. My squirrel friends also bring a smile to my face. I just opened the door to feed one and it walked in and sniffed noses with Scooby. I think they wonder why the cats don’t bring peanuts out for them!

We’ve had very dark days here recently. Monday morning I seriously wondered if there was a solar eclipse that I didn’t know about. It was that dark. Later that day I read in a weather blog that it was the darkest December day in Seattle in nine years. And I wonder if yesterday could have beaten that record. I fell asleep on the couch and, when I woke up, it was so dark that I thought I must have been asleep for hours. It was only 3:15. Today is brighter but the intermittent rain showers and standing water everywhere aren’t very inviting. I miss outside.

I’m working on my negative outlook but, in the meantime, Cee’s Share Your World questions are fun and friendly, so there’s no chance of Grumpy, Downer Trish coming out.

What would be your ideal birthday present, and why? My ideal birthday would be a day out with Don, Michael and Daniel and maybe Smarty. The boys never want to go anywhere with Don and I anymore and I miss having family outings. The only gift I would require is a cake. I’ve developed an unfortunate fondness for cake.

What color would you like your bedroom to be? I think I would like it to be blue and green. Right now it’s gray because we moved our bedroom into the family room downstairs and bedroomy colors just didn’t look right with the fireplace and wainscoting and high windows.

Would you prefer snowy winters, or not, and why? I would prefer more snow than we get now, which most years is none. I’ve always loved snow. When I was a kid, I would get so angry about our lack of snow and I became ridiculously excited when snow finally decided to grace us with its presence.

scan0003

As beautiful as I think snow is, I am glad that we don’t have it for weeks or months on end and I’m sure I would hate it if I had to drive in it. But a little for the dog to play in would be nice.

Would you rather go a week without bathing, but be able to change your clothes, or a week without a change of clothes, but be able to bathe? If I had to, I would pick a week without a change of clothes, as long as those clothes were cotton. I don’t sweat if I wear cotton and could probably get away with wearing the same shirt for a week. But put polyester in that shirt and it doesn’t last two hours. It would be a very ripe week if polyester clothing was the only thing available!

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I’m grateful for the one day of sunshine we had last week, which was on Monday, November 3oth. This week, I’m looking forward to Friday, which will be the 19th anniversary of when we brought Michael home. We always go out to dinner to celebrate. I’m hoping he picks somewhere good, but mostly I look forward to all four of us going somewhere.

14 thoughts on “Sharing My World – Week 49

  1. Perhaps you might consider a soft lavender colour for your new bedroom – halfway between grey and blue?
    Hope you have a good night out on Friday night.

  2. Happy birthday to Michael! Smarty behind the wheel reminds me of our moving from an apartment to our home. Hubby left the door open on the Jeep and when he came back, there was someone’s dog sitting behind the wheel, ready to go! LOL Dogs do love the snow.

    1. I saw on the news last night how much worse this stormy weather has been hitting Oregon. I see some relief in the forecast but it looks like we have a couple more storms to get through first. On the bright side, drought shouldn’t be a concern anymore!

    1. It was really cute and Scooby was even nice about it. Usually he backs up and makes a disgusted face like, “how dare you sniff me, Tree Rat?” I think the little guys are growing on him!

Leave a Reply

