Photo Challenge Entries

Christmas Doors

Wednesday I walked around Snohomish and took pictures of some of the doors all decked out for Christmas. Taking pictures of buildings or parts of buildings usually results in lots of swearing when I get the images uploaded to my computer and I usually never share the crooked, awkward results of my efforts. But I will make an exception this time for Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Doors and Windows! I’m hoping the Christmas decorations will help hide the fact that I have no idea how to take photos of architecture….

9 thoughts on “Christmas Doors

  1. What a lovely series, Trisha.

    Architectural shots are hard. Does one put the door/main subject in the middle or the rule of thirds? Does one includes nearby buildings or not? I don’t think there’s an easy answer. I try to keep my main obvious lines straight, but sometimes putting the horizontal straight means a vertical line is crooked or vice versa. I guess you just have to work out what part you most want to emphasise – the door, the wreath, the window decor, the building and so on.

    Most houses in Australia have fences in front of them and no shop would dream of putting decorations or ‘models’ outdoors unless the shop is actually open for business. Too many vandals and burglars. Having said that, the window displays in the city shops are lovely in Melbourne at this time of year . Too hot to go into the city to take photos at the moment.

    1. I’m glad to hear that it’s not just me that finds architectural shots hard! I have all those same questions when trying to decide how to frame things. And it doesn’t seem to be something I’m catching on to by viewing other people’s photos either. I want to learn and practice more before I take a vacation but I don’t see that happening any time soon.

    1. Thank you! It was fun to see all the Christmas decorations and I was happy to discover a place where people aren’t frantic and rushed before the holidays. Parking was scarce but the town still felt really laid back!

Leave a Reply

