Photo Challenge Entries

Centered

01cccb79fdc662d70fd264c393b13e97136635854e

Last week, Cee challenged us to break the rule of thirds and put our subject in the center of our photos. This turned out to be much harder than I expected! Trying to get the center of a focal point right in the center of the frame showed me just how much my hands bob around. Just about every shot I took was a tad off center. Luckily, that can be fixed by cropping the picture into a square.

DSC07348

Oops, it appears I can’t crop evenly either!

DSC07384

It’s too bad photo editing can’t really correct for the lack of sharp focus you get when shooting in low light without a tripod!

DSC07358-001

Or the slight blur you get when you are just a little too close….

DSC07344-001

With so little plant life out there right now, I didn’t feel like trimming any off this cabbage or the camellia I found blooming in a churchyard.

DSC07397

DSC07409

In response to Cee’s Compose Yourself Photo Challenge: Centerpoint

* Just a side note: WordPress is malfunctioning this morning and I am unable to reply to comments. I’ll work on figuring out what the problem is later this afternoon after getting my grocery shopping out of the way, if I survive it. With Christmas just a few days away, it’s sure to be crazy out there and I’m feeling absolutely awful so my patience is sure to fall short. If you hear a news story about a Mill Creek woman freaking out in a Fred Meyer, it will probably be me!

12 thoughts on “Centered

    1. I survived, although not without a lot of swearing! It’s so frustrating when our closest store is consistently out of the same things, not only every holiday but every week.

      1. Glad you survived! I feel ya – I abhor the grocery store. Hang in there with all the festivities and goings ons that the holidays bring, and take breaks when you’re able to sneak them in. Hope you’re feeling better too! ❀

  1. Too funny, Trisha. You have the same probs I have sometimes. I noticed my Sony sometimes doesn’t focus sharply if I get too close (even though I’m using an 18mm – 200mm lens, so I should be able to get very close indeed).

    By the way, I noticed WordPress kept asking me to approve every comment (even though you’d all commented before and were approved commenters) – WordPress up to it’s old tricks.

    1. I’m glad to know the Sony focusing problem isn’t just me! Although, I guess it would be better if it were so I could eventually get it right. πŸ™‚

      Yes, WordPress is being very buggy. I’m having a hell of a time keeping up with comments. Sometimes I see them flash up when I’m on my iPad but then they’re nowhere to be found in my notifications or anywhere else. I know I’ve dropped the ball on a lot of conversations.

  2. That first flower photo is stunning, Trisha. The curled petal and the lighting adds a a charming character to the image. The cabbage was eye-catching also. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

