goals

Minding My Ripples

DSC07751

One day, a few years ago, I was having a bad day. I was tired and in a great deal of pain and I had to go out to several stores to run errands. I walked up to a checkout line and resigned myself to standing in agony while waiting for the people ahead of me. The woman in front of me turned around, saw I only had a few things, and slid her stuff back and told me to go ahead of her. I was so touched by her kindness that I nearly burst into tears. I thanked her profusely and went about my day in a much better mood. I vowed to be that kind person when I’m out and about, and I did good for long while. I held doors open for people, smiled and stepped out of the way when people passed by and let people cut in front of me in line and sometimes in traffic too. It’s sad how many of the people seemed completely surprised by simple courtesy.

This year I slipped. I got cranky and impatient. Yesterday, as I was  reflecting on the past year and thinking about what I’d like the year ahead to be like, Chris Donner, in her new blog, Chris’ Journaling Journey, had the perfect prompt to help me set one of my goals. The post is titled Ripples, and is about the way our thoughts and actions have a ripple effect on others. I thought about the ripples I created this year (yikes!) and the positive ripples I would like to create in the future. I decided I’m going to take a photo of ripples (yesterday I only found waves but sometimes we have that effect too!) and write “Mind Your Ripples” on it to remind myself to keep my ripples positive. I will have bad days, of course, but I will quarantine myself as much as possible on those days. I want my ripples to make people smile. No more muttering profanity under my breath this year. I’m cleaning up my ripples!

I really hope I didn’t accidentally type “nipples” anywhere in this post. 🙂

11 thoughts on “Minding My Ripples

  1. Haha, a typo could have made such a strange sentence, especially if it was because you were cleaning them up! A great mindset to have, more people should have the same idea 🙂

  2. Cottonelle toilet paper has ripples, and it cracks me up every time I end up reading that on the package while I’m at work. And of course, “ripple” always makes me think of the legendary Fred G. Sanford. I obviously have nothing profound to say, I just love the word ripple!

    1. Non-profound comments are always welcome and kind of a relief since I don’t have to come up with a profound reply! I forgot about Cottonelle ripples. For some reason, the word ripple makes me think of Ruffles potato chips and also frogs. I’m not sure why!

    1. And then we have to remember to read our reminders! This morning stuck a post-it to my computer with the word “focus” on it. I hope it helps. Any time I get on the internet, I forget what I meant to do.

  3. i’m constantly reminded of the ripple effect when I take the time to give way to others or lend a helping hand, but I have to admit it’s usually me that people help, especially a seat on the bus or tram.

    We had 2 fire alarms (yes, TWO! ) in the one night last Sunday and I was struggling to walk down 8 flights of stairs when my wonky knee caused pain. I was touched, almost to tears, when a young man offered to help me down.

    Helping others takes so little time and means so much.

    I have a real problem standing in a queue due to my lower back pain too. Can walk and sit, but standing still for any length of time can be excruciating.

    Chronic pain teaches us both patience and compassion for others.

Leave a Reply

