Share Your World

Sharing My World – 2016 Week 1

I’m both relieved and a little sad the holidays are over. I’m glad the pressure to make things special has passed but I loved having the boys home from school and I loved the long weekends with Don. Smarty did too.

011ae20b1f1b8d0d4e070aa15011835b0b357a7646

Our New Year’s weekend ended with a little bit of snow. Although it snowed very hard a few times, it only amounted to what my dad would call a skiff. It was a very wet snow, which made it unpleasant to be out in. The squirrels didn’t seem to mind though. I caught one being cute in the feeder out in the yard.

DSC07986

DSC07997

DSC07990

To help us get back into our normal routines after the holidays, Cee has four questions for us to Share Your World.

As a child, who was your favorite relative? I was blessed with four wonderful grandparents so it feels wrong to pick a favorite! But, when I was a kid, it was my maternal grandmother who I most looked forward to seeing. My brother and I were the only grandkids that lived close to her and she always made us feel very special. She would spend hours on the floor with us, playing silly games or doing whatever we wanted to do. And she was funny. She got words all mixed up sometimes and always managed to get herself into funny predicaments, like putting her purse in the oven and then forgetting and turning the oven on or licking her ice cream right off the cone and into her lap. There was always a lot of laughter when we were with grandma.

scan0013

If you could be a tree or plant, what would you be? I would be one of our native maples with a good spot for a squirrel nest. I would love to watch them in their nests. I’m so curious about that part of their life that I never get to see.

What would be your preference, awake before dawn or awake before noon? I love to be awake before dawn but the late fall, winter,  and early spring is the only time of year that I am. Sunrise is just too early in the lighter months. It’s best for me to get up between 7 and 8 am. If I sleep any later than 8, I feel terrible.

Would you like to sleep in a human size nest in a tree or be snuggled in a burrowed spot underground? Definitely a human-sized nest! If I were up there in the trees with the squirrels it would only be a matter of time before I had them hanging out in my nest with me and maybe eventually sleeping on my bed. Oh, I really want a nest! 🙂

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Last week, I was very grateful for the long weekend with everyone home. This week, I’m looking forward to the sunshine returning. I love sunny winter days and tomorrow’s forecast is for “abundant sunshine.” I’m so excited!

8 thoughts on “Sharing My World – 2016 Week 1

  1. Yay for sunshine! Your squirrel was being cute–just look at those poses! I’m sure it was glad to have a readily-available snack on a cold day. The cold arrived here Monday, and several more Dark-eyed Juncos appeared in the yard.

  2. If I were to get a human sized nest in a tree, with all due respect to our sciurine friends, I don’t think I’d want to use one of their real estate agents! I am always amazed at where I see squirrels nests built… at the ends of what seem like frail limbs, way way way up in the trees, and sometimes even over concrete or the street itself! I don’t know how many of them keep from falling out and killing themselves! I’d want my home attached to the trunk…

    Congrats on beating us to the snow. We got ran on tap again for the next couple days (Which means it must be ready to warm up again). It might snow here one day before Spring….

    1. I wouldn’t want to use a squirrel’s real estate agent either! It seems strange that they would so often choose precarious branches out away from the trunk.

      You know it’s a weird weather year when the Puget Sound area gets snow before anywhere else, aside from CA and FL!

    1. A deep maroon sunrise sounds beautiful! We haven’t had too many colorful winter sunrises here yet. Hopefully we’ll have more now that El Nino is supposedly kicking in to bring us drier weather.

Leave a Reply

