random · Share Your World · Uncategorized

Sharing My World – Week 7

DSC08938

My world is currently very wet. We’re having an atmospheric river event this week, where a plume of moisture stretches across the Pacific, from Hawaii right to the Pacific Northwest, where it dumps bucket loads of rain on the western slopes of the Olympics and Cascades. I think these kind of storms are what everyone called a Pineapple Express when I was a kid. I always hated them! Every winter day that didn’t bring snow or frost made me really angry. Right now, I feel at peace with the rain. After all, February showers bring March…er, oh yeah. Landslides. That’s not good! We’ve had enough rain over the past few months that more is not going to do us any good whatsoever, especially since it’s warm enough that it’s raining in the mountains too. There are three weather alerts in effect – all flood watches – on my weather app. Not good.

Since I can’t do anything about the weather, I’m just going to settle in for a week of hibernating and nesting. I plan to make use of my free month of HerbMentor, make some elderberry syrup, work on my entry for Evil’s Squirrel’s Third Annual Contest of Whatever, and maybe clean out my root vegetable cupboard because I saw some things sprouting in there when I was looking for a yam.

But to start the week, I will tackle Cee’s Share Your World questions.

What are you a “natural” at doing? I used to feel like a natural at typing. I worked as a medical transcriptionist for awhile and I loved so many things about it – the feeling of my fingers flying over the keys, knowing all the medical terms, watching my to-do stack of charts get smaller and smaller as my stack of done charts grow taller and taller. But the job also consisted of something I’m not a natural at – answering the phone – so I wasn’t at all sad when I got fired.

DSC07363

Nowadays, my fingers are too stiff and clumsy to type very fast, so I don’t think I could get a job as a medical transcriptionist, even if I was willing to answer someone else’s phone (which I am not. I don’t even like answering my phone.)

What comes natural to me now is learning about herbs. When I learn about herbs, I feel like I’m remembering old friends. I love the official names – Taraxacum officinale (dandelion), Nepeta cataria (catnip), Arctium lappa (burdock) and Verbascum thapsus (mullein). Oh, and another one of my favorites – Hypericum perforatum (St. John’s Wort) – it sounds like something you would say at Hogwart’s while waving your wand to turn a goblet into a rat. HYPERICUM PERFORATUM! I love it! 🙂

Would you prefer a one floor house or multiple levels? Definitely one floor. I hate stairs for so many reasons. Aside from being a pain (literally, sometimes) to traverse, they’re impossible to keep clean and I hate seeing Smarty struggle on them. Sometimes I hold my breath as he half walks, half falls down the last two stairs.

DSC08895
We don’t like things that make Smarty’s life more difficult.

 

What was your favorite subject in school? I liked English. I loved reading books and writing reports on them and, believe it or not, I used to be really good at grammar and punctuation and all that. I wish all of it had stuck with me but I’ve forgotten how to use commas. Like that last sentence, does a comma go before the but? Sadly, I just can’t remember. To me, it looks wrong with and without a comma.

Complete this sentence: If only the rain.. would let up in the morning when I have to take Smarty out. I got drenched this morning. It seriously put a damper on my whole “I’m at peace with the rain” thing!

27 thoughts on “Sharing My World – Week 7

    1. Thank you for the link! I was happy to learn that it’s acceptable with and without a comma because I probably alternate between using one and not. And I was also happy to learn that many others are confused about colons and semi-colons. I just find it so hard to remember these rules now that no one is editing and grading my writing!

  1. You’re a wonder at remembering the Botanical names of herbs. I’ve forgotten most from my 1992/1993 course.
    I hate stairs too. Going down makes it hard to see the ‘depth’ of the step with my thick glasses and going up is exhausting for my heart condition. I’m not saying I can’t walk up 10 stairs – I just avoid them whenever I can.
    I don’t like phone work either (and many of my jobs included that). I prefer to type an email, but the next day I see than my FM brain fog and cognitive function has left words out of a sentence (something that the Apple Mac pro doesn’t pick up. It only spellchecks).
    I always find it interesting that you, Trisha, and a few other fellow bloggers have very similar likes and interests. Do we naturally find kindred spirits on the internet? Is it serendipity? Or is the Cosmos throwing some of us together?

    1. It is interesting that out of so many thousands of bloggers that we are able to find others with interests so similar to our own. I’m not sure what makes it possible but I’m grateful for it!

      I don’t remember all the botanical names of all herbs, usually just the more common western herbs. The ones with complicated spellings don’t seem to stick in my mind. I think my brain just throws out information that doesn’t make sense to me!

      I much prefer writing emails too, although I also leave things out of what I’m trying to say when I’m under the influence of brain fog. Being a receptionist/secretary probably wouldn’t be as bad now that most people have cell phones. People’s spouses calling all the time was one thing that drove me crazy!

    1. It’s so awkward to try to communicate with a disembodied voice! Without the facials cues, I find there are awkward silences and then both people try to talk at the same time. I hate it!

  2. I see I’m not alone in not being a phone conversationalist. Sorry to hear you have so much (too much) rain. I hope everyone stays safe from landslides. I remember when our dog started doing that–falling down the stairs. He didn’t do it very many times, and finally situated himself at the bottom of the steps to sleep–he knew we wouldn’t be going anywhere without him knowing about it. Or maybe that was just as close as he could get. Dogs are wonderful like that. I sure do miss him still–and it’s been a long, long time.

    1. The rain is much lighter today so hopefully the hills are getting the chance to dry out a little bit.

      Dogs are so loveable and become such a big part of the family. I still miss our dogs of the distant past too. Right now Smarty is sleeping in my doorway so I can’t leave without him knowing!

  3. I’ve always had issues with the phone. Surprisingly in a work setting I’m much better than in a personal setting. I’m ok at answering when others call about work related stuff but when someone calls about something else, or when I need to call someone up, I always stress about what I’m going to say and how the conversation will go.

    1. I am the same way. I stress about having to make phones calls. I would much rather someone called me. It’s so much better now that everyone has cell phones because I used to stress about not recognizing the voice on the other end of the line, but it’s still awkward to start a phone conversation even when you know who it is. And, yet, I’m not eager to use FaceTime or Skype or anything like that!

  4. I dislike answering the phone too. I certainly don’t want to answer other people’s phones although I did for a couple of years when I was volunteering at our local radio station as a receptionist. I also liked English because I liked to read. I used to get so annoyed when our library sessions were interrupted and we had to stop reading and listen to the librarian talking. I don’t remember punctuation as well as I should and am probably guilty of using too many commas. I did enjoy reading this book, maybe you know it. https://www.goodreads.com/work/quotes/854886-eats-shoots-and-leaves

    1. I haven’t read that book but the little bit I read about it on Goodreads is hilarious! I’ll have to look for it. I think I’m guilty of using too few and too many commas. Even after reading the rules, I have trouble remember stuff like that anymore. As soon as I click off a website with rules, what I just read floats right out of my head!

  5. It sounds like you have been getting more rain that we have. Although right now we are fairly wet. Should dry up some this after, or so I’m told. I would have to put in the same typing category as you. I actually typed faster than I could do shorthand …. back in the day. I thought about becoming a court reporter. I was a word processor and then admin assistant (fancy word for secretary). I ended working for some great sales teams from Mission Foods and Staples near the end of my career. I never wanted to be on the medical end of the world.

    1. I bet it would be interesting to be a court reporter but also stressful since you couldn’t hit the pause button!

      Our rain has slowed down today, thankfully. It looks like there’s already some flooding in the valley though. We could really use a week or two of dry weather!

  6. What wonderful musing, Trisha! I know I am very late stopping by, please forgive me! I enjoyed reading about your love for herbs and the quip about Harry Potter.. so true! I hope the rain has let up by now.. it is about 65 here in Virginia today and the sun is peeking off and on through the clouds. I even have the front door open! Enjoy your weekend!

    1. Thank you for stopping by! Your weather sounds lovely. We had a nice day today. Not as warm, only about 50 degrees, but the sun felt really good. It looks like the rain will be back tomorrow though. I hope your weather holds out longer. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

      1. My pleasure, Trisha 🙂 I think bad weather returns here on Tuesday… today is supposed to be nice again though, so I hope to be outside some and enjoying it. Have a great Sunday!

  7. I hope the rain has let up. There was something about physically seeing your piles of work diminish. All this virtual/electronic stuff makes it seem like an endless loop. I also hate answering and speaking on the phone. I swear I have a phone phobia and it’s not good. And now with email, facebook and texting I hardly ever use a phone, which only has made it worse, I’m afraid. Oh dear, am I using the commas correctly?

    1. I think my aversion to phones is close to being a phobia as well. It’s good to know I’m not alone in this! So many people are addicted to their phones. I do like being able to take photos with my phone and keep track of my children via text but, otherwise, I would rather not have one. I certainly don’t like the expectation that I’m always going to answer it just because I have it with me!

      Your comma usage looks correct to me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

