allergies · fibromyalgia · Pacific Northwest

A Mountain of Misery

DSC07642

This mountain – Mt. Baker, the northernmost volcano in Washington State – has nothing to do with my misery. I just didn’t want to create a post without a picture and hadn’t found another opportunity to share my dim photo of the snowy slopes of Mt. Baker.

However, now that I’m on the subject, the Cascade Mountains have provided me with much photography-related misery over the past year. They are impossible to photograph from the lowlands. They pop out with breathtaking, majestic beauty in many places…always places where there is nowhere to park a car. By the time I find a place to pull off the road, the mountains are once again obscured by trees or have somehow shrunk into the distance, looking tiny and distant once more. It aggravates me to no end that I can’t share the beauty of the region I live in!

These are the views from the high school closest to my house, but sadly not the school my kids go to – I might actually want to go to ball games with views like this as a backdrop.

DSC07641

DSC07634

There they are. Beautiful, snowy peaks. But no way to frame them and have them look pretty for you. Sorry, I can’t share. 😦

Aside from my ongoing photography woes, I’m feeling miserable because a cold virus is waging war on my immune system. So far, I think I’m winning but the battle is taking a toll and I feel extra tired and my usual fibro-achiness is reaching a whole new level of achy. Everything between my skin and my bones hurts! But I have to keep fighting because several people have told me this particular virus, one that tries to settle right into your chest where it causes a bad cough, lasts for three weeks. Three weeks of coughing does not sound fun, so I’m being super-extra lazy and pampering my poor achy body, hoping that it’s strong enough to keep this super-sucky cold at bay.

To make matters worse, the cedar trees are beginning to spew clouds of pollen, which is probably why sinus pain has been added to my mountain of misery.

Oh, the joys of February! The peak of cold and flu season overlapping with allergy season and the worst month for Fibromyalgia. It’s just so much fun.

19 thoughts on “A Mountain of Misery

    1. Thank you, although you are too kind! One of these days I’ll find a good vantage point to capture the mountains and remember to use the right filter so they’re more visible!

  1. I like the first and third photos very much. I guess we amateur photographers without long telephoto lenses just have to accept that we’ll never get photos of such far away mountains, regardless of the trees in the way.

    Sorry to hear about your cold. Homemade chicken soup with lots of ginger and garlic (I mean 1-2 whole bulbs boiled up in the chicken stock) usually get rid of my viruses. Having said that, I rarely get any kind of cough, cold or flu since I’m not in close proximity to workers and the public these days.

    Hope you start to feel much better soon.

    1. I have to go to the store today so I’m going to get the ingredients to make some bone broth. I can usually ward off a cold with an elderberry and fresh ginger elixir that I make but this one is being rather persistent.

  2. I hope you feel better soon! The mountains are beautiful. I guess we’ll just have to come out there and see them for ourselves! It is frustrating to not be able to find a safe place to pull over and take pictures. Agricultural areas of our city have narrow roads with a deep ravine on each side. One doesn’t dare take their eyes off the road to shoot a picture, and other cars are usually driving fast.

    1. A lot of our farmland is like that too. There are so many beautiful scenes and just no way to capture them. I must say, those Google cars that drive themselves sound appealing at times!

  3. We have a couple Indian burial mounds around here, and not much else…. so even mountains from afar look really nice. On another note, battling a cold the last couple days myself, I’m a bit worried about how many of my fellow bloggers have also been suffering. Can this stuff even spread online?

    1. Sorry to hear you’re battling a cold too. The one going around now is such a tough little bugger that it wouldn’t surprise me if it could spread through the internet! My friend has been coughing for four weeks and just about everyone she knows has been flattened by it. I’m still fighting it. I refuse to cough for the next month!

      Indian burial mounds sound intriguing! We don’t have any of those here, that I know of.

  4. The mountains are beautiful. Your part of the world is one I would love to visit. I often feel frustrated in the same way that so many of our best views are hard to photograph. Roads are narrow and winding and I would often try to shoot a quick photo from the passenger seat when David and I were out for a drive because there was nowhere for him to stop the car for me to take one.

    1. It is beautiful here, if you can catch it at a time when it’s not raining. I’ve taken a few shots out of the passenger side of the car but none of them have turned out well. I’ve got to work on that skill!

Leave a Reply

