random

It Could Be Worse

I always remind myself of that when life feels too difficult, which is usually when I’m not feeling well and have things I have to do. When sickness strikes is when being a stay-at-home mom really sucks. There are no sick days. There’s no one else to walk the dog in the morning, buy the groceries or cook dinner.

I’m not feeling that terrible today but I still don’t feel up to going to the grocery store so there’s a lot of dread and even a little bit of self-pity hanging around in my mind. Can’t someone else do it? Just once?

Silence. There’s no one here except the dog and he can’t drive.

But, as I remind myself, it could be worse! I could have to cook on a stove like this:

DSC08832

And wash my clothes in a machine like this:

DSC08833
I think this is an old washing machine but I’m not 100% sure!

 

Can you imagine? Both my grandmothers probably had appliances similar to this. My dad’s family didn’t get electricity the first time the electric company came through and my mom’s parents lived in an old greenhouse during their first couple years of marriage.

Life is pretty easy now. The house heats up with a few clicks of a button. The stove burners turn on without building a fire under them. I don’t have to hang our laundry on the line and hope it doesn’t rain or freeze. I don’t have to crank start my car or drive it backwards up hills…life is pretty dang easy!

7 thoughts on “It Could Be Worse

  1. We never had a washer or dryer, so my Mom would make the weekly trip to the laundromat and I’d tag along sometimes when I was a kid. They had a wringer near the sink at the back, and I loved playing around with the crank. I think even for the early 80’s that was outdated. Nobody came to the laundromat to beat their clothes on rocks!

    1. I don’t think I was ever in a laundromat when I was a kid so I don’t know if ours had a separate wringer like that. It does sound a little outdated, even for the 80’s! I doubt our closest towns were anymore advanced though. The laundromat in good old Concrete probably was a shallow, rocky spot in the river!

  2. That’s the spirit shining through, Trisha.

    While our Mothers (mine was 88 when she died), Grandmothers and other ancestors worked very hard physically, they did (mostly) have a true sense of family and found their own entertainment.

    They knew all their neighbours and the whole community came together in times of crisis (well, my Mother’s family who were farmers did).

    In many cases they were fit and healthy and lived with the seasons. They appreciated every little thing they owned because they had to work hard for it (in my family).

    Now, we all take it for granted that there’ll be food in the store, a car in the garage and a multitude of modern technology items to save us time.

    Who was happier?

    1. It’s true that our lives today are lacking many things, especially the sense of community. I don’t even know most of my neighbors and my family is too far away for us to help each other, or even visit that often.

      Still, today I am grateful that my washing machine will do the wringing for me!

Leave a Reply

