Share Your World · Uncategorized

Sharing My World – Week 8

0173dc23e3e04175ed97e3ca3a7de05a48689fff81

Here in the Pacific Northwest, we’re in that weird place in between winter and spring. Trees and bushes are beginning to bud and some, like the Indian Plum in the photo above, are already leafing out, only to get a coating of frost on cold, sunny mornings, like today. When it’s sunny like this, I love it! It’s chilly enough to see my breath in the mornings but the sun has just enough warmth to feel heavenly in the afternoons, as long as there isn’t a breeze and you stay out of the shadows.

The only downside to the mild weather is all the tree pollen. Oh, and also I’ve noticed that my squirrels friends are looking less fluffy.

DSC08973

I do miss their winter fluff and bushy tails.

I’m rather late with it this week, but here are my answers to Cee’s Share Your World questions.

What household chore do you absolutely hate doing? Cleaning the refrigerator and freezer are the household chores that I hate the most. I’m not crazy about cleaning the shower either but at least that doesn’t fill up the garbage cans and create a sink full of dirty dishes.

What was the last URL that you bookmarked? I don’t know. It’s been a long time since I bookmarked anything. I kind of forgot about it. Now that I’ve been reminded, I feel like a fool for not bookmarking the login page for my Butters, Balms and Salves class. All those times I searched through my email for the link to the page…. Duh!

Close your eyes. Listen to your body. What part of your body is seeking attention? What is it telling you? My mid back on both sides is yelling at me for wearing a sports bra this morning. It’s telling me – I TOLD YOU, NO BRAS! Allodynia, pain caused by a normally non-painful stimulus, in my mid back region is one of the first fibromyalgia symptoms I developed back in 2001-03 and it’s bothered me to some degree ever since. For some reason, it gets a lot worse this time of year and wearing a bra for just an hour can cause pain for days. I feel like there’s a metal bar digging into my back right now, even though I ditched that miserable sports bra an hour ago. When I am at home and when I can hide inside sweatshirts and jackets, I wear stretchy camisoles instead of a bra. Sorry, if that’s TMI! 🙂

Would you rather have a two-bedroom apartment in a big city of your choosing or a mansion in the country side in the state or country where you currently live? I would take any kind of house, even a rundown shack,  in the countryside over an apartment in the city. It’s probably due to my hillbilly heritage but I feel very claustrophobic in cities. I need wide open spaces, nature and quiet. The only reason I’m surviving here in the suburbs is because I live on the very edge and my neighborhood has very generous greenbelts and native growth protection areas.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Last week I was filled with gratitude for herbs! With frequent doses of elderberry/fresh ginger syrup, I was able to keep that nasty cold from completely taking hold. I haven’t experienced the full snotty, sneezy, stuffy head thing since I started using herbs two and half years ago. This week I’m looking forward to the arrival of my order from Mountain Rose Herbs. I’m itching to make more massage butter but I don’t have any jars to put it in. I’m also looking forward to the arrival of my new bullet journal but it’s not supposed to come until Monday.

12 thoughts on “Sharing My World – Week 8

  1. I hear you about living in a city. I liked it in my twenties, but slowly started moving out of the city more and more. Now I’m in a town of abut 15000 and 40 minutes from Portland. There is only a retirement community between and open air. Otherwise it’s just a couple miles in any direction. Love it. Thanks for sharing.

    1. Canby sounds like the perfect sized town, the perfect distance from a bigger city! A location like that is my real preference and one of the reasons I hope to move to Snohomish in a few years.

    1. I didn’t notice before but the squirrel does look like it’s missing an arm! For some reason, they like to tuck one, or both arms in. Like everything they do, it’s usually very cute!

  2. I’ve given up wearing bras at all these days (it’s been about 2 years since I last wore one). The discomfort just isn’t worth it. Instead I just layer if it’s cold enough for me to worry about it.

    I also prefer country to city. Outer suburbs work well for us at the moment, close enough to everything that I don’t need to worry about travel and close enough to the countryside and beach that it’s only a 20-40 minute drive to either.

    1. I wish I could get away with never wearing a bra but things are a little too bouncy if I don’t wear one on walks. Still, I didn’t wear one on my walk this morning. You’re so right – it’s just not worth the discomfort. I still feel where the bra was yesterday morning.

      The outer suburbs are working pretty well for us at the moment too, although I do hope to move to a single-level house in a town a few miles from here. The town is big enough to have everything a person needs but not so big as to have the traffic that we have here in the suburbs.

  3. I may not like the city, but I’m a realist and single (without a car) so need to be close to medical expertise and public transport.
    I can’t stand wearing a bra either, but then I’ve had 4 lots of breast surgery, have some hard scar tissue as well as having FM. It’s too painful to breathe in with the constriction of anything around my torso. I hate tight ‘anything’ so wear sizes far larger than I need.

    I bookmark articles or sites almost every day as I want to re-read or refer to them. When they get too long a list in my Favourites Bar, I start deleting them.

    And as to the fridge. My freezer and fridge never, (or rarely), need cleaning as I usually only buy food for 7-10 days and then end up wiping surfaces as they empty (in the fridge shelves). I don’t drink milk, juice or have any bottled items and have only a few jars in the fridge as I can’t afford condiments in general. Being on a frugal budget means rarely having too much of anything. I don’t have things go mouldy or past their expiry dates either. Well I did throw out a couple of old spices the other day that I’d bought and used once.

    I hate cleaning the glass shower screen and tiles but used to have a bath in my old apartment, so they rarely got soap or shampoo, scum or anything, on them. In my new apartment I have a large shower with 6 foot glass doors and wall (no bath which I miss). When I’ve finish my shower I take the shower hose off it’s hook and hose down the glass & tiles, then dry off the clean water droplets with a spare towel. That sweeping motion of drying floor to ceiling stretches my painful stiff back AND means never, ever having to clean the glass (literally). The tiles don’t seem to need cleaning. I also hose down the floor of the shower recess so shampoo scum/hairs don’t build up. This quick clean takes about 3 minutes and saves an enormous amount of heavy cleaning. I use it as a form of exercise. Once every 3-4 weeks I get down on my knees and scrub the shower floor. Same with cooktop and benches. I clean them every time I used them, so in theory, I don’t need to spend a whole day doing housework each week. Each task is automatic. I don’t need to think about it. It’s a habit that teaches me Mindfulness and living in the moment. I rarely hurry. I rarely makes morning medical appointments or create deadlines for myself. I never leave things until the last minute. If I have deadlines, I leave myself 3-4 times the amount of time I need (so that I can sit and relax my muscles for a short time until the appointed hour).

    In general, I put everything back where it’s stored or sits (after using it) as my short-term memory is poor and I can’t remember where I put things otherwise. Call me obsessive, but I truly need to pace my day and my life (in order to relieve some of the stress, pain and other health symptoms).

    I don’t have the energy or desire to do housework and my pain levels are far too high to really scrub anything. But then I’ve always rented (which means keeping things tidy and clean), In theory, it doesn’t take much to tidy up or clean for the 6mthly property agent’s inspection (as we have in Australia for rental properties).

    I’m single and retired these days of course, so I have control over many facets of my lifestyle and don’t do anything if I don’t feel like it.

    If I had a family, especially all males, I’d go crazy. If men didn’t have women to look after them, I think some of them might very well live in a hoarder’s nightmare or rubbish tip.

    1. Your city location sounds very nice! With the river and farm nearby, you’ve got the opportunity to get out into nature, if you’re feeling up to it. I think without a car, I wouldn’t mind the city as much. The traffic is the main thing I can’t deal with. The Seattle area is terrible.

      One of my friends lives alone as you do and it was the same for her – she could clean up as she went about her day and never needed to take a day to clean. Then her son moved in with her. He’s really very good but he’s still a guy!

      It sounds like you’ve gotten very good at planning your days and using your energy wisely. I hope to get there someday…..

  4. Ha! That squirrel does look like he’s an amputee… though I know he’s just playing Napoleon like squirrels often do. One other advantage to living way out in the country is you can burn that painful bra and nobody will care…

    1. If I had some land in the country, I could host monthly bra-burning bonfires and inspire other women to ditch the uncomfortable contraptions of civilized society! 🙂

  5. Ah it’s so wonderful to see those signs of spring! Still barren here. I’m with you on the bra wearing, ugh so uncomfortable! I go without much of time. I’m glad the cold you had coming on didn’t get you. Have fun with your herbs when they arrive, and hope you have a great weekend! 🙂

    1. I’m so glad to hear that I’m not the only one who goes without bras much of the time. They’re just so miserable! We’re having a warm day here today and I swear the buds on the trees have grown since this morning. Of course, our springs unfold slowly while it sounds like yours happen quickly. You could pass us up, come May! I hope you have a wonderful weekend too. Enjoy your beautiful new granddaughter!

Leave a Reply

