seasons · Uncategorized

Yep, it’s March!

DSC09021

March sure rolled in like a lion around here! We had everything from sunbreaks to downpours to windstorms yesterday and my favorite meteorologist is predicting “hail and rainbows” today and another, milder, windstorm later. I love it! After months of boring weather, I’m enjoying the excitement. I love the dramatic skies we often have in March, the huge, white, puffy clouds, the dark blue-black angry cloud, the frequent, though brief, sunbreaks and the occasional rainbow.

I enjoyed one of those brief sunbreaks a few days ago when the dull, gray skies cleared enough to let the golden light of the setting sun break through the trees. I just happened to be in a good spot to capture the fleeting beauty.

DSC08993

It’s moments like this that remind me of why we chose to live in an older neighborhood in an older house. I love being surrounded by nature instead of just rows upon rows of huge houses. You couldn’t find a scene like the one above in any of the new neighborhoods around here.

Aside from enjoying the dramatic weather, this week has been challenging, so far. The planets seem to be aligned in just the right way to provide me with many frustrations and obstacles to overcome and no energy to do so. My week started off like this:

When I drug myself out of bed Monday morning, the only thing I was looking forward to was savoring my very last cup of Trader Joe’s Wintry Blend coffee. (They are out for the year.) After dragging my tired, achy body up to the kitchen, I found the empty can of Wintry Blend sitting on the counter!!!!! My 16-year-old, who caused me endless amounts of stress, frustration and despair over the weekend, had used the last of it. The day continued on like that, culminating in my almost-tearful realization that PBS hadn’t aired a new episode of Downton Abbey on Sunday and there’s only one episode left. 😦

Yesterday involved a tired, achy body and lots of cat puke ending up on lots of surfaces. It’s just how things seem to go for me in the early spring. It seems to be a season of pushing me to my limits with small, annoying, unnecessary obstacles. I have no choice but to go with it, cleaning up cat puke and running endless errands that only seem to crop up this time of year and resting and watching for rainbows when I get the chance.

I do hope we get hail and rainbows today. And more of these kinds of clouds.

01cf81821dc504ebc813edb3d628171e68cefa58ef

016d7c4a3efbaf017799542c3f037ebf5920d0ca2a

I am determined to enjoy these blustery March days but I can’t help but expect more nasty surprises, like cat puke in my shoe or a sudden windstorm that knocks out our power during the Downton Abbey finale. And what’s up with my hands being so swollen all of a sudden? Why can’t I just get a stuffy nose and itchy eyes from allergies like everyone else? Why must spring be a time of torment? Why, why, WHY?!?!

Well, I’m off to check to see what my cats are up to. They’ve been quiet for far too long….

15 thoughts on “Yep, it’s March!

    1. Sons seem to have a talent for find and eating the last of things we planned on! At least my youngest does. And cats…such infuriating creatures sometimes!

  1. I feel for you concerning your cat clean-up. The other morning, coming out of my bedroom, I stepped in cat barf right at my doorway. Not a pleasant way to start the day. Wonderful cloud photos. Wishing you rainbows!

    1. Ugh! Stepping in cat puke right out of bed is a horrible way to start the day. Sometimes I wonder if they place their barf right in our path on purpose. Thank you for the rainbow wishes! We had a beautiful one on Tuesday (while I was driving and couldn’t get a shot of it, of course!) but I’m still waiting for the hail and rainbows the weatherman promised. 🙂

  2. Wonderful photos capturing the stormy skies. As you know I have a grant penchant for dramatic clouds in my images. It’ll be a while before I get any here though.
    You were definitely in the right place at the right time in that sun image.

    Yes, a day filled with small irritations can set one up for a bad mood and as you say, best to just go with the flow and work through them.

    1. I have a thing for dramatic clouds too. So often our clouds are just a uniform layer of gray over the whole sky so it’s a treat to see individual clouds.

  3. I’m with you on the weather. Weather from March through May can get really crazy around here, but in a way I enjoy. Though I would love to be able to enjoy a good windstorm without losing power for once. The block I live on loses power more often than anywhere else in the city I think. It was out for four hours yesterday afrernoon/evening.

    1. I didn’t lose power at my house but, when I got to the school for a meeting, it was all dark and we had to gather in front of the windows for light. You’d think they could figure out your block’s power issues since it happens so often!

  4. Those are the kind of clouds I’m used to around here. Not sure we’ve ever had hail AND rainbows at the same time… but rainbows will very rarely damage your roof or scare the cats…

    1. 🙂 When I heard that forecast I pictured little rainbows falling on my roof. Walter comes up with some crazy things. A few weeks ago, the forecast was for “rain hitting windows that you didn’t even know you had.” That would have been interesting!

      1. I once read that David Letterman was fired as a weatherman back in the 70’s for saying there’d be hail the size of canned hams. That may be apocryphal, but it was the first thing I thought of when your meteorologist said “hail and rainbows”…

        1. Letterman was probably hilarious as a weatherman! Maybe his weatherman days were an inspiration to Walter, who definitely takes a different approach to predicting the weather than anyone else around here. One of his crazier forecasts is on YouTube as “drunk weatherman on air Fox News.” 🙂

  5. So beautiful, Trisha! I hope the weekend goes better for you than the week started out. I would have had a fit about the coffee – don’t mess with my morning coffee!
    Wishing you beautiful skies, good health, and no cat vomit! 🙂

Leave a Reply

