Share Your World · Uncategorized

Sharing My World – Week 10

DSC09181

I rambled on so long in answering Cee’s Share Your World questions that I’m not going to make you suffer through an intro too. So, here we go:

What would you ask for if a genie granted you three wishes?

  1. I would wish for perfect health. I would love to be free of all my health conditions. I’m tired of everything being such a struggle.
  2. I would wish that dogs had much longer life expectancies.
  3. I would wish that Baby could come back from the great beyond to live out that long life expectancy with us. (And that she and Smarty would get along!)

I feel kind of bad for not wishing for longer life expectancies for cats too but, as much as I love Frosty, I’m not sure I could handle another 18 years of cleaning up after him. Sometimes I feel like I can’t handle another day of his floor-pooping, horrible-yowling, litter-spreading ways.

DSC08904

Then I feel terrible for thinking that because he’s so sweet!

What experiences are most meaningful to you? It’s hard to describe but it’s the moments that I feel really connected and awake. These moments usually happen out in nature where it’s quiet and there aren’t a lot of people around. I sometimes feel this sense of oneness and timelessness that makes me grateful to be alive.

036
Sometimes it’s the simple things, like the color of the light filtering through the trees on the beach.

 

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? An archeologist. I’ve always been fascinated with history.

Complete this sentence:  The best day of my life was…. I…can’t complete that sentence! It’s funny but the days where the greatest things happened aren’t necessarily days that I would want to repeat. Like the day Don and I got married. It was 93 degrees! And so very busy and chaotic. The day we brought Michael home was great but I was so nervous. The day I had Daniel the stupid doctor almost killed both of us and I was so drugged I felt like the alien on Alien Autopsy.

I think the simple days with my family have been the best, the ones where we were all together and didn’t have anywhere we had to be at any certain time. The rare ones where everyone got along and there was no yelling, punching, kicking, bloody noses or throwing of drinks in each other’s faces. (So, definitely not the day we took a whale watching cruise in Hawaii.)

066
I can’t remember if this was before or after the throwing of drinks in front of a large audience that we couldn’t escape for many hellish hours.

 

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Last week I had appointments almost every day so I was just grateful when the week was over. This week I’m looking forward to the weekend. I hope there’s a break in the weather so Don, Smarty and I can go somewhere. I am so grateful for all the time we get with the old boy.

DSC09127
What makes Smarty happy makes us happy.
13 thoughts on “Sharing My World – Week 10

  1. Thanks Trisha for sharing. I find that the big days that are suppose to be the happiest and most memorable are also so full of worry and expectation……it just those ordinary days that makes it so special. 😀

  2. Love the pink blossom and raindrops photo! I’m totally with you on the meaningful experience thing. I don’t think in terms of best day, but I kind of have a mental list of best moments. Memories I have, many from more than 30 years ago, where for a few minutes or an hour everything seemed right with the world. Those best moments are almost all connected to being outdoors also.

    1. I love the way you describe it – “where for a few minutes or an hour everything seemed to be right in the world.” I love that feeling! I can’t really figure out if there are any specific conditions that bring that feeling on but it does seem like those moments happen more out under open sky.

      I worry that I am forgetting the moments on my list of best moments. It makes me wish I had kept a journal through the years.

  3. Love the first photo of the pink flowers.

    I agree with you about those special moments in Nature. They are priceless. Time in Nature (or the wilderness) is always healing – both mentally and spiritually.

    (although time off the internet is becoming increasingly priceless too 🙂 I’m trying to make ‘time-off’ a regular spot every 2-3 weeks now).

    (Archeology was something I’ve been interested in too, but Anthropology – investigating indigenous herbal plants and their use in the Amazon and Native American cultures probably come before the Archeology. I always had a fascination with Medieval Herb Gardens in the UK too).

  4. Aw, this was a great response. I know just what you mean about your cat. Also, I agree, those happiest days of our lives aren’t usually the happiest. The happiest days are simple ones, without drama or complications 🙂

Leave a Reply

