Photo Challenge Entries

Contrasting Colors

 

DSC04222

The current task in Cee’s Compose Yourself Challenge is to share photos with contrasting colors, which fall opposite of one another on the color wheel. I thought red and green would be easy because they’re Christmas colors but it turns out I don’t have many photos that are just red and green. To make it more difficult, my camera often doesn’t photograph true reds well, so I have dark reds like the dahlia above and orange-ish red like the anemone below but not many red-red subjects.

DSC09615

I was happy to see orange and blue are contrasting colors because I captured a couple of photos with orange and blue on a rare warm day earlier this month.

I know we don’t call it orange hair, but I think this little girl’s hair is more orange than red and I think it contrasts with the blue of her jeans rather nicely.

DSC09159-002

This next photo is a compositional nightmare but I wanted to show off the mountains on the east edge of the Snohomish Valley, which just happen to be behind a kind-of-orange strip mall here. Unfortunately, the strip mall pops more than the mountains and the strip of green grass kind of ruins the contrast between the orange and the blue.

DSC09167

Some day I’ll find a good vantage point to photograph those mountains….

I wasn’t sure whether to include this next one or not. The wall behind the pan is kind of between red and orange and the pan doesn’t have much blue left on it anymore.

DSC08602-001

Last, we have some purple and yellow pansy petals.

DSC01183

DSC01046

From this challenge I learned what contrasting colors are! I didn’t know that they are colors that are opposite of one another on the color wheel. I also learned that I don’t take many photos of basic colors. I have a lot of different shades and muted shades but not many of the basics. I will (hopefully) be on the lookout for them now though!

 

11 thoughts on “Contrasting Colors

  1. Yeah, what I learned from reading (and not participating in) the color challenges is that I pay almost zero attention to color in composition. Definitely something to keep in mind for the future.

    1. Same here! I never take photos of anything because of the color. Hopefully, this challenge will help me remember to look for contrasting colors that will really pop when I’m complaining about there being nothing to take photos of. 🙂

  2. Red/green and blue/orange seem to get paired up quite a bit, but you almost never see purple and yellow together. I think they’re my favorite contrasting color set, and they’re even a running theme in my artwork (As Wiki is demonstrating in your badge!)

    1. I really like purple and yellow together, except for in some clothes. Purple and gold were my high school colors and some of the uniforms we had were hideous!

    1. Thank you, Cee! This theme was really helpful because it got me thinking more about color, which is something I haven’t given a lot of thought to in the past.

Leave a Reply

