sharing · Uncategorized

Sharing My World – Week 12

DSC09413

My world feels weird right now. Michael got the job he interviewed for a couple of weeks ago. He started on Monday. He starts work at 6:00 in the morning and doesn’t get off until 4:30, plus he has a commute that’s about 45 minutes each way. And with Daniel in Driver’s Ed after school, the house is quiet and empty for so many more hours than I’m used to. I guess it’s good practice for when my nest really becomes empty, which could happen in just a few years.

Anyway, enough about that! Here are my answers to Cee’s Share Your World questions this week:

Wanting something to quench your thirst, what would you drink? I would start with room temperature water. I keep a glass of it on the counter at all times. I can’t drink icy cold water. It makes me cold, gives me cold headaches and it weakens the digestive fire and mine is already on the weak side. Sometimes plain water just doesn’t cut it though so sometimes I add a drop of lemon, lime or grapefruit essential oil and, when I just have to have carbonation, I get sparkling water or drink a can of caffeine free Zevia, which is a cola sweetened with stevia.

What made you feel good this past week? Spending time with my high school friends. It was so fun to catch up with them and I feel grateful that still talk to me after the nightmare I was in high school. I’ve been friends with Janise and Heidi since kindergarten and Michele since 4th grade.

Here we are the morning of our mini reunion. In a group photo, I’m always the dork tipping my head to one side. I have no idea why I do that!

DSC09733-001

When you’re alone at home, do you wear shoes, socks, slippers, or go barefoot? Socks are my preference. My feet love being in socks! When it’s too cold for just socks, I put fleece slipper socks on over my socks. I can’t stand to wear anything with a sole when I’m in the house and I can’t stand it when it’s too hot to wear socks around the house.  

Would you rather live where it is always hot or always cold? Always cold, please! Heat makes me really cranky. I wouldn’t want to live anywhere that had summers longer than our average of 24 days a year over 80 degrees. I like cool, fresh air and I like being able to do things without sweating. I also like to be fully clothed, from my wrists to the tips of my toes. I hate shorts, tank tops and sandals. (Partly because my feet love being in socks!) Of course, cold all the time would suck. My comfort zone is from 60 to about 72 (Fahrenheit). But I would miss the cold if I lived somewhere that didn’t have it.

DSC06896-001
Frosty mornings are my favorite!

 

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Like I mentioned, I’m grateful my school friends will still talk to me. Truly, I was such an insecure, boy-crazy, self-centered little nightmare in high school and even in to my 20’s. I wouldn’t talk to me, if I wasn’t me. 🙂 This week…hmmm…I guess I’m most looking forward to Friday because it’s our frozen pizza night. I’m having such a hard time thinking of things to cook for dinner.

24 thoughts on “Sharing My World – Week 12

  1. Agreed ^ I couldn’t even notice anyone tilting their head. I was studying that picture looking for it, it ‘s a photo of lovely ladies and I didnt notice any tilted head. 🙂

    1. It’s just funny because I was the one setting the timer on the camera so I knew I didn’t have to lean in but I still kept doing it, in all three photos!

  2. Yes, you are hard on yourself.
    Lovely photo of the four of you and does it really matter if you tilt your head on one side 🙂
    We all have our little idiosyncrasies. I’m with you on the ‘cold’ front.
    Thank heaven summer’s gone and this coming week is full of cool, soft, sweet air mixed with a few rain showers. Autumn is finally here on my side of the world.

    1. Autumn, sweet, sweet, autumn. It’s always such a relief after the heat of the summer. I’m glad it finally brought cool, soft, sweet air to you! It’s always such a relief after the heat of summer. Enjoy!

  3. Beautiful frost photo! The pic of your reunion is a really nice one of all of you too. (I think you all look better without the 80s froofy gowns. Heh.)

    1. It’s actually my 19-year-old who got his first job. I should have said that. Darn brain fog makes me not clear about things! I’m glad you enjoyed the frost morning photo.

  4. Anything I drink has to be cold… the more frigid the better! I always made note of which drinking fountains at school could be counted on for cold water and which ones only dispensed nasty, tepid stuff.

    1. You must have a warmer constitution than me. I miss being able to drink icy cold drinks. They’re so much more refreshing than the nasty, tepid stuff. Maybe once the hot flashes of menopause kick in I’ll be able to indulge in icy drinks again!

      1. The last few years, my inner thermostat has actually been running too low. I’ll wake up in the middle of the day shivering sometimes, and I’ll linger in bed longer than I should because I’m too cold to want to uncover. It still never keeps me from getting a cold glass of water, though, because the alternative makes my stomach hurt!

        1. I went through several years where my inner thermostat ran low. It sucked! My hands and feet were cold all the time and it was so hard to warm up if I got extra chilled. I’m warmer now but seem to be prone to extreme temperature fluctuations. I didn’t expect my inner thermostat to crap out on me while I’m still in my 40’s!

  5. funny about the weather, we never get what you would call cold and our heat can be like a preview of hell. We had 116.6 for 3 days a few years back. Fahrenheit. That is just awful hot. We were all like limp noodles. 😀

    1. 116.6? That’s unthinkable! We had a couple of days over 100 a few years ago and it was absolutely dreadful. I can’t even imagine 116. It must have felt like living inside a furnace!

Leave a Reply

