Uncategorized

How Do You?

DSC09568

As I work on adjusting my daily schedule to keep up on things at home, accomplish my goals and make time for the things I want to do, I find myself struggling to keep up with blogging. I’m feeling terribly overwhelmed by theย ever growing number of posts in my reader and I know I’ve missed many posts lately, but I had to turn off email notifications because that was getting overwhelming.

So, my question is: How do you keep up with reading blogs? Do you use email notifications, the reader or a third partyย app like BlogHer or Feedly?

37 thoughts on “How Do You?

  1. honestly, I don’t know how people do it. I am actually just at a really boring job that allowed me to have a lot of free time, so that’s how I keep up. I am now moving into a much busier role though, so I am getting nervous on how to keep up with my favorites. I usually just use the wordpress reader, but I try to remember my favorites and just visit them when I am crunched for time. Sometimes I’ll check in on the weekends instead of reading a book. All in all, it makes me happy to read what I want to read and not feel like you have a responsibility to someone else just because they read your blog!

    1. I guess that’s what I’m struggling with: feeling responsibility to people just because they read my blog. I honestly don’t know how people do it either. I just have a handful of readers and I have a hard time keeping up. I can’t imagine getting hundreds of likes each day. Whenever I read titles that promise to increase your readership I think, “why would I want to do that?” ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. haha! I feel like the people who get hundreds of likes AND want to keep increasing their followers are trying to make some $$ from how many people visit – or they are just in college and have a ton of free time. I’ve decided to be a very easy reader and not post anything in months! haha ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. I strictly use the WordPress Reader. I try to hit the day’s posts each night before work, and catch up on mornings or days off otherwise. There are days I just don’t get around to it… Wednesdays and Fridays/Saturdays just don’t happen, but if I’m only a day or two behind, I still try to catch up… usually by skimming and picking interesting posts/must-read blogs. I also regularly trim my following list… mainly those who seem to have forgotten I exist.

    Right now, I’m looking to catch up on everything from today, yesterday and late Tuesday night. Good thing you’re a must-read blog! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. You’re one of my must-read blogs too, but I’m sure you already know that since I was one of your top commenters. I probably should skip a few here and there so I don’t look too stalkerish. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think I just need to summon up some ruthlessness and trim my following list.

  3. Lovely photo!
    I use email notifications almost exclusively. I created a Gmail account especially for that purpose ๐Ÿ™‚
    I can’t read everything from everyone but I try to keep up! I also keep a “ditch” list. If I keep liking/commenting on others’ blogs but they never come back they make the list. That may sound a bit petty, but I see blogging as a two-way community – I like to connect with people – and there are loads more people to read who are almost like real-life friends ๐Ÿ™‚
    I rarely follow people who post multiple times in a day as then I wouldn’t have time for anyone else. If I do, I cherry-pick posts.
    I hope that helps ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. That does help! Starting a “ditch” list is a good idea. I’m probably pressuring myself to read blogs by people who don’t visit mine. Like you, I see blogging as a two-way community and a way to connect with people.

  4. Lovely photo.
    I do a little of this and a little of that. Sometimes I read my inbox, sometimes I do the WordPress reader, sometimes by clicking on recent commenters on my blog. Breaks can be good. When the break is over, you find out what posts you truly missed and which ones you didn’t miss at all! Interests change over time.

    1. Just reading the recent commenters on my blog for awhile is a great idea! I will probably find that I’m pressuring myself to read the blogs of people who never visit mine. A break might be good too. Thank you for your input!

  5. I don’t know how people keep up either.
    Especially if they work outside the home i.e. 9-5 and have busy lifestyles and family to look after..

    I use email notifications as email is my ‘list’ of reminders. My short-term memory is lousy. I have to be honest and say the WordPress reader is really tiring to scroll through. I prefer to see a list of emails and the subject line, so I can pick or choose quickly when I’m too busy to read them all. I subscribe to at least a dozen newsletters and/or photography sites and its becoming harder and harder to keep up.

    Once or twice a week I erase all unread blogs (from people who I don’t have any relationship via commenting).

    i’ve had to unfollow 3-4 writing blogs lately as I find long written posts tiring to read (although I can write long posts myself – I just have trouble proof-reading them as the words swim across the page).

    Interests change over time too. I seem to do little new photography these days as I’m getting more and more tired walking (i.e. heart condition is deteriorating) and my old foot/ankle injury keeps flaring up and I have to put ice packs on it at night. It’s usually ok the next morning, but I ask myself whether I want to keep aggravating old injuries and wasting more time ‘recovering’ simply because I feel obligated to go outdoors to do new photos to share online.

    I really enjoy the interaction between regulars bloggers on the computer, but sometimes I feel like turning the comments and ‘like’ button off when the replying becomes a chore.

    One of my blogging friends now only answers comments every 5-6 posts. Other times she presses the ‘like’ button to show she’s read the comment, but doesn’t actually reply to the commenter.

    You might like to try that.

    When blogging becomes a chore it’s time to change your routine and/or online time.

    1. I find long posts difficult too. Sometimes seeing long paragraph after long paragraph makes me just click off of a post without reading it. My attention span just isn’t that good anymore and I don’t have a ton of time to spend online.

      I haven’t been doing tons of new photography either, mostly due to my migraines. I’m very sorry to hear your heart condition is worsening. That must be very worrisome to say the least. It can be depressing to not be able to get out to do the things we want to do. I’m struggling with that right now. Most days I’m able to make the best of it and enjoy life close to home but other days are challenging. I’m happy for you that you have such a wonderful view right from your living room!

      1. That’s why I try to break up paragraphs or long posts with images, Trisha. I know there are many people like us with these attention span issues.

        Even before I was diagnosed with FM, CFS & HCM I was struggling to read books and I used to read 8-9 each week 20 years ago.

  6. First of all, gorgeous poppy. Second of all, I’m not going to even lie and say I read every post of every blog I subscribe to. Everyday, or every day that I have spare time, I scroll through my reader page and if something catches my eye I read it. I also have a select few that I have sent to me via email so that I don’t miss a post. However, I do post daily, even if I have to schedule a post to go up at a later date/time I ensure that I have a new post up every day.

    1. I don’t try to read every blog I subscribe to either, even on a day when I have the time. There are just too many! I think if I trimmed down my following list, I could probably be comfortable with scrolling through the reader the way you do, just reading the ones that catch my eye. Right now, there are just so many that I can’t make it all the way through the reader to where I left off the day before, so I know I’m missing some that I don’t want to miss but I can’t allow emails from blogs that post more than once a day because it gets too overwhelming.

      1. I have very few people that I subscribe to that post more than once a day. However for those that do I limit them to my reader. For those that post sporadically, to keep from missing them I do the weekly digest to my email. And I have like 3 people that I get a daily or instant email from. It helps me. You’ll have to figure out what works for you.

  7. Beautiful flower photo.

    I do a mix. The blogs that I like to keep up on most are email subscriptions, but most of them don’t blog every day. Several only blog a few times a month, if that. Some of them I only click on if the topic looks interesting to me. (I have a separate gmail addy for blogging like draliman does to make things easy.)

    There are several other blogs that only appear in my reader. I also have four tags that I follow in the reader. On my new internet plan with limited data I usually only go to the reader if I can use public wifi somewhere and have the time, because loading the reader and visiting a bunch of blogs eats up data pretty quickly.

    I have almost 60 subscribers now, which I know isn’t that impressive compared to most, but I’ve never done anything to actively promote the blog so that seems pretty good to me for one year. (Just because I like or comment on a blog doesn’t mean I expect that blogger to visit mine, just as I feel no responsibility to visit every single blog that has liked mine.) Only a few of my subscribers have ever commented, and that doesn’t bother me. As long as they are getting something from it I’m satisfied.

    Yours is the only blog I regularly comment on. Others I only occasionally comment when I really feel like saying something or have info to provide. But I do liberally use the like button to signify, “I was here, I read this, and I enjoyed it”. But I don’t even click like every time. Sometimes I get backed up and just have to skip reading some posts.

    I think you’re putting more pressure on yourself than most others expect. Few people have so much free time they can read everything they want to, let alone actively participate every time, especially on blogs that have several posts a week.

    1. I’m sure you’re right that I’m putting more pressure on myself to do more than anyone expects! Usually, I do the best I can and don’t worry about what I don’t get to. I think trying to change my schedule around has made me feel like blogging doesn’t fit into my life anymore, but I don’t want to give up the connections I’ve made so I’m trying to find a way to make it fit. I do get email notifications of most of my must-read blogs (yours is one of those).

      I think 60 followers in one year without actively trying to promote your blog is very good! Just letting people find me and follow if they’re interested is the way I do all social media. I care about quality connections more than quantity.

  8. I have about 50 blogs that I subscribe to for daily digest that go directly to my email, but depending on my schedule, I’m not always able to get through them all each day, and then they really add up. It’s been harder to keep up since Noelle arrived – my time is not my own anymore. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Trying to read 50 blogs a day would be challenging, even without a baby in the house! Sweet Noelle – I so love the photos you’ve shared of her.

      1. Of course, not all of them post every day, so it’s usually around 25. And some of them are photography blogs, so there isn’t a lot of reading. ๐Ÿ˜‰
        Thank you, I’m breaking my Facebook posting so many photos of her, but I can’t help it, she’s such a little joy to me! โค
        Hope you have a wonderful weekend Trisha!

  9. I use feedly and have must follows, photo blogs, short fiction, and other categories set up to help me get through things.

    Sad to say, most weekends I am not even reading anymore and dump everything unread from my lists Sunday night so I can read fresh on Monday , but I am trying to get back into the swing of things.

    Life happens. We understand โค

    1. I don’t read much on the weekend either, so I totally understand you needing to dump your reading list so you can start fresh on Monday! Who wants to start the week with a backlog? Not me, that’s for sure! I will check into feedly. It would be freeing to be able to dump old posts!

  10. My attitude, Trisha, is that blogging should be relaxing, inspiring and fun. I don’t worry about missing posts like I use. A easy-going outlook is more important to me than feeling like I have to do something, but I always respond to comments as soon as I can. I’m lucky that I don’t get too many. Ha ha! Love the brilliant red of your floral photo.

    1. I don’t know how people that get tons and tons of comments do it! More and more, if I’m catching up on a bunch of older posts, I just hit “like” because I’ve been thinking about how time consuming it must be to answer 20, 50 or more comments every day. It’s not a problem I’ve ever had and I’m okay with that! ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. I know! I really think about some of my comments so I’m not too repetitive. They can take a bit of time. I do the “likes” also, depending on the nature of the comment. You have to find joy in what you do or else it becomes a chore. Happy blogging!

  11. Beautiful photo, love that color. I have an energy problem too, so I can feel what you’re talking about. I mainly use Reader, it just seems easier. I go to Cee’s blog a lot. When I have time I click on the blogs I’m following. It’s just so hard to read everybody every day, it’s hard not to feel guilty.

Leave a Reply

