Photo Challenge Entries · photos

Skagit Valley Tulip Fields

DSC09777

Last night, I went to the Skagit Valley Tulip Fields for the first time. The minute I got out of the car I was so overwhelmed by the vivid color and the beauty of it all that I nearly burst into tears.

Although I grew up in the Skagit Valley and for several years worked and lived very close to the fields, I hadn’t ever gone to any of the festival events or even stopped at a field. To me, and probably to many locals, tulip time was just a month of insane traffic.

The WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge asks for one establishing shot but I can’t pick just one! I chose the one at the top of the post because it was my first impression. The rest in this gallery are my favorites from the first two fields. I’ll save the sunset shots for another post and my iPhone shots for yet another. Prepare for tulip overload!

 

25 thoughts on “Skagit Valley Tulip Fields

  1. Absolutely gorgeous and it makes me homesick. Sedro Woolley High 1975. Along that same stretch of roads you can also see fields of daffodils an irises, a couple of weeks earlier and latter. I moved away 20 years ago and still miss the fields. Thanks for your beautiful photos.

    1. Sedro Woolley is where my parents live! I’m only an hour away but I don’t get up there often enough and I, too, get homesick for it. I grew up upriver, in Birdsview, but the farmland in the lower Skagit has always seemed like a special, magical place to me.

      1. Well….howdy neighbor 🙂 I went to a wedding shower in Birdsview back in the 70’s. I bet you remember the Self Kicking Station in Rockport (now gone of course).

        1. I don’t remember the Self Kicking Station! I had to look it up to see what it was. It seems like something I should remember! Then again, my memory isn’t great. Every time I talk to family or old friends, I discover there are things everyone else remembers but I don’t.

    1. It does, at that! Looking back, I just can’t believe I wasn’t interested or appreciative. I think photography helps us to look at things in a different way. More and more, I find myself wishing I had had a decent camera back in the day. Thankfully, the tulips are still there to capture!

  2. Wow, tulips as far as the eye can see! Where is Tiny Tim when you need him?

    Mine have yet to bother blooming, and are nowhere near as pretty as the Skagit Valley tulips anyway. Maybe after 7 years of not de-weeding the flower bed, they’re upset at me…

    1. If your tulips bloom at all they’re doing better than mine! I should post a picture of my two remaining tulips. They’re really sad, just leaves that can’t even stand upright. I think the squirrels might be to blame. I know they chewed up all my purple crocus, leaving only the ugly yellow ones.

  3. So glad you were able to make the trip! I’ve never actually been to the festival either, but I’ve seen the fields in bloom from I-5 many times. My favorite photo is the yellow daffodils with the red barn behind them in the distance.The one with the sunbeams over the red tulips is nifty too.

    I remember the self-kicking machine from when we were on a family camping trip as a kid.

    1. I can’t remember that self kicking machine, although I used to go through Rockport all the time on my way to friends that lived in Marblemount and Newhalem. I wonder if it came after my time, or if it was just another thing I didn’t pay attention to.

      Now that I’ve been to the tulips, I’m going to try to make it every year to try to improve my photography. I’m mad at myself for leaving my telephoto lens on the whole time. It would have been the perfect place to try out my prime lens and I didn’t do it!

  4. Amazing. I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many rows (even when I was in Hollands or The Netherlands I think they’re called nowadays).
    I can well understand how the locals might take them for granted if they bring lots of traffic and crowds in season.

    1. Getting around during tulip season was always a nightmare. Still, I don’t know how I could have just driven by all that color without wanting to stop!

    1. Yes, there was! I don’t think my husband was overly impressed though. He made the comment that he can’t believe people come from so far to see the fields. 🙂

Leave a Reply

