Photo Challenge Entries · photos

Tulip-Filled Valley at Sunset

DSC09904

When I look at my pictures from the second tulip field we visited Saturday evening, I feel mad at myself. I can’t imagine why I continued using my telephoto lens when what I wanted were wide angle shots! This would have been the perfect opportunity to try out my new prime lens. I guess I was just following my usual routine of using my Sony for closer-ups and my iPhone camera for wide angle shots. I do this because I’m not good at changing lenses without something to set all my gear on. Unfortunately, the angle of the sun created too much of a glare on my iPhone lens so most of my iPhone shots didn’t turn out. I did get a few to play around with before the glare became too much and it got too dark.

The first of these is the same shot as the photo at the top of the post but with the wide angle perspective from my iPhone camera. I’d read about how telephoto lenses compress everything within the frame but I’m still always surprised by how close it makes the distant hills look. The wide angle shot gives a more accurate impression of how expansive the lower valley is.

01556b9eaf093b1ffe9f15291964b80c3e8864dc85

01aa7ea720e61a420e4ee029fa4e6af270f96e509c

01d71f74d0fb3818b331c579a7a72d4978661d0fc1

In the gallery below are photos I took with my Sony and my unfortunate choice of lens. The light was changing rapidly, from golden to hazy and white as the sun lit up the moisture in the air, back to golden and increasingly dark. Next time, I will be sure to bring my tripod so I can better capture the last moments of sunlight with longer exposures.

Hopefully, next time I will also remember to use my lens hood to avoid lens flares. And for anyone sick of tulips, don’t worry. Next time won’t be until next year. I’m all tulip-ed out too. 🙂

WPC: Landscape

32 thoughts on “Tulip-Filled Valley at Sunset

  1. I’ve been enjoying the tulips! You still got some really nice shots with the Sony. I especially like the one with the tighter shot on the barn with the flowers flooding the foreground.

    If it makes you feel any better about forgetting hood and lens, when I was out shooting last week I never noticed that the white balance had accidentally been changed to a null custom setting and the ISO was bumped up to 500 (on a bright sunny day). The result was that some highly zoomed shots of kite boarders on the sound I was excited to get ended up being sent to the trash instead of savored in my collection. And I thought I had checked he ISO before I started!

    1. Oh no! That’s so disappointing to have to trash shots you thought were going to turn out good. It’s so easy to do though. I’m beginning to think that I’ll never remember to check my camera’s settings, especially that darn ISO. I haven’t played around with white balance much. I have mine set to cloudy and I leave it there, even on sunny days. I suppose I should experiment more!

    1. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one! For awhile, I’d forgotten that my lens even came with one. Now I have it in my bag but I never think about it until I end up with a bunch of shots with lens flares.

      1. Oh I am glad I asked. I was wondering if that would mean I don’t appreciate your work on red tulip. But I am glad I did. Now I can enjoy the yellow tulips. Thanks for sharing. Keep up the good work.

  2. Amazing! Lovely photos, my favorite is the tulips silhouetted by the setting sun. Looking forward to seeing your shots with your prime lens next spring!

  3. No doubt the squirrels are getting jealous over all of the coverage the tulips have gotten. I just tried looking up if squirrels can see in color or not, and the first thing to pop up was advice on whether hunters should wear their blaze orange or not while hunting them. Bad Google, bad!

    1. OMG, what kind of monster could shoot an adorable little squirrel? My dad told me people used to eat the huge squirrels back in North Carolina but I still can’t imagine being able to shoot one of the little critters. Of course, I feel that way about cows and deer and pretty much every animal. I would be the first to die if we ever had to hunt and kill our own food.

      If the squirrels are jealous of the tulip coverage, they should be a little more cooperative in posing for photos! There’s one that I’ve been trying to capture for months. It will take a peanut out of my hand but makes itself scarce when the camera comes out.

Leave a Reply

