Share Your World · Uncategorized

Sharing My World – Week 16

DSC00222

Here in the Pacific Northwest, we’re having summer in April. It was 91 degrees at my house on Monday. 91! In April! That never happens here. We’ve been breaking heat records all over the place the past three days. I’m sure some people are loving it. I’m not. I can feel my summer depression, which normally doesn’t hit until mid-July, coming on already. I just want to go to bed, pull the covers over my head and not wake up until mid-September. To have summer start this early is just really distressing for me. I’ve been feeling anxious and unsettled ever since we switched to daylight savings time. I needed more time to adjust to spring before summer unleashed itself upon us. Thankfully, cooler temps and April showers are on the way for the weekend. After having the wettest winter on record, you’d think I’d be sick of rain but I’m looking forward to the sound of rain hitting the newly emerged leaves. The sound of rain is different when there are leaves on the trees. It’s such a gentle, comforting sound.

I so belong here in this rainy region!

Enough about the weather and my eccentricities and on to Cee’s Share Your World questions.

If you had to have your vision corrected would you rather: glasses or contacts?  Or what do you use if you need to have your vision corrected? I would rather contacts but I think my eyes are too dry and easily irritated for contacts to work for me. Plus, I’m too cheap and lazy to check in to it. So, glasses it is!

If you had to describe your day as a traffic sign, what would it be?

Funny Sign

This describes not just my day but how the month of April has been for me so far. I have so many health issues flaring up that I don’t even know where to start to make myself feel better.

Was school easy or difficult for you? How so? School was pretty easy for me academically, except for math. Socially, it was more difficult. If I were in school today, I would probably be diagnosed with social anxiety disorder. I remember my stomach being in knots for the first few weeks of the school year and any time I had to read or speak in front of the class.

Would you rather take a 1 or 2 week vacation with an organized tour or take a cruise of your choice? I think I would rather go on a cruise than take an organized tour, although I’m not fond of being on boats. (No escape, being surrounded by water, all that rocking and rolling – yuck!) The idea of travelling with a bunch of strangers and having a set agenda appeals to me less than mild seasickness. My first choice would be a Viking River Cruise. I would love to see the Scandinavian countries and rivers don’t have the constant rolling waves of open sea.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I’m just grateful last week is over. It was a difficult week, mostly because of having daily migraines. This week I’m looking forward to the rain returning so the pollen will calm down. It’s really bad right now. I stepped outside a little while ago and got an instant headache that hasn’t gone away. You can actually see the pollen floating in the air. It even smells like allergies out there!

15 thoughts on “Sharing My World – Week 16

  1. I would live 91 degrees, but thats me. For the Pacific NW and in April that is unusual – I could see how it could be upsetting. I sympathize with the migraines – I have them too.

    1. Murphy’s law seems to work with the weather frequently! If we’ve had a long stretch of rainy days, the sunshine always seems to come on a day when I have some social obligation. I’m glad to hear you’re back into the 70’s. I’m hoping we will be there tomorrow. Today was 80. Not terrible but still too hot for April!

  2. I could never do maths either 😦
    I Googled 91 degrees to see how hot it is – it never ever gets that hot here even in midsummer. 25C maybe on a good day…

    1. That’s kind of what I was thinking this morning when I woke up to yet another headache. It’s got to be the pollen. Even my husband and son who normally don’t have allergies were sniffling a bit last night. I feel like I need a respirator to go outside! 🙂

  3. I hope the squirrels have shed enough of the winter coats by now to be able to adjust to that weather from hell! Next thing you know, they’ll be coming inside for the air conditioning rather than the peanuts…

  4. It’s autumn here but also unseasonably warm for April. Today it is to be 26 celsius which is crazy for Tasmania in late April. I put it down to climate change, seasons are all topsy turvy.
    I was just like you at school and would feel sick at the idea of having to get up in front of the class. It’s horrible.
    You probably would enjoy a river cruise, although the ships are smaller they carry fewer people and I would say there would be a quieter type of person that would take that sort of trip. Also those cruises usually stop somewhere every day so you can get off and explore on your own. I’d love to do one myself. I’d like the Rhine but Scandinavia would be very cool. Always wanted to go there.

Leave a Reply

