Animals · sharing

It’s Raining Squirrels!

 

DSC00267

Today it’s just raining regular rain. But yesterday a squirrel fell from the sky! Right as I stepped out onto my deck, a squirrel fell from somewhere above my roof to the cement below my deck. All four of its little legs flailed wildly as it tried to grab onto the cedar branches. It couldn’t get ahold of one so it fell all the way to the ground. I ran to the edge the deck and looked over, afraid I would see a splatter of squirrel below. The cement was empty. Apparently they can fall from 20+ feet and just get right up and continue on with their business.

Lately, their business has involved a lot of begging. I stopped giving them peanuts because they’re making such a mess on my deck with the shells. Some of them are eating the corn and sunflower seeds I put outย but others pose outside my windows, looking as cute, hungry, helplessย and irresistible as possible.

DSC00313
“Don’t I deserve a peanut for being so cute?”

Even Don, who spent a good portion of one Saturday scraping peanut shells out from in between all the boards on the deck, can’t say no to the little critters. It’s kind of a problem and it becomes an even bigger problem when it’s warm enough to leave the door open because so many of them come inside looking for food. Smarty had to chase one out of the dining room yesterday.

DSC00314
“You go. I’ll watch out for the dog. Just bring me back a big one!”

 

I fear I spoiled last year’s babies a little too much. While many squirrels move on in the spring, I kind of doubt last year’s young ones are going anywhere. I wonder what my yard will look like when the new babies join the bunch. It might really look like it’s been raining squirrels!

19 thoughts on “It’s Raining Squirrels!

  1. Sorry to hear about the ‘raining squirrels’ at least it sounds like they are resilient. You’ve created yourself a lazy generation of squirrels . They’ve lost their ability to forage, or refuse to embrace it because it is too easy to sneak into your house and steal a snack. You might have to leave them to their own devices this spring/summer/fall and just help them through the winter cold.

    1. It’s odd because at times they’re pretty independent and then they go through a spell where they’re here all the time, like they’ve forgotten how to forage. I’m not shopping at the store that sells the big bags of squirrel food anymore so they’re going to have to adapt!

  2. So cuuute! I’m glad the little critter who fell survived, that would have been terrible to see. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Because of your title, I now have the song “It’s Raining Men” stuck in my head, so thanks for that… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Oh I can so identify with the mess they leave behind (commiserations to Don) — but you’re right — how can you resist when they look at you with those big eyes? ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I’ve seen one fall from about that far out of my tree before, but onto regular ground, not cement. I worry about things like that everytime I see one has built a nest right over a street… that’s a long way down and it has to hurt!

  5. My cats and I recently found a squirrel in the yard with little-to-no tail! I call him Stumpy, and I love being able to identify him. Unfortunately, shortly after we found him we moved. I am hoping to see him again before we fully move out, but it was still fun to see him out the window for a few weeks!

    1. Stumpy! I love that name! It’s perfect for a squirrel with a chopped off tail. I might have to steal that idea for the next tail-less squirrel that shows up at my house. I’ve really overused the name Shorty with Girl Shorty and New Shorty! ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you see your little friend again.

Leave a Reply

