Share Your World

Sharing My World – Week 23

 

011dec5e782c57386b52bb69bb66c574c598d24356

It was a hot weekend here, with temperatures on Sunday reaching 100 degrees in some places. (That would be 37.7778 in Celsius, according to the online Fahrenheit to Celsius conversion calculator that I consulted.) I’m not sure how hot it was at my house because I didn’t go anywhere. Even with a cool bedroom to hide out in, the heat zapped my energy so bad that I could barely move.

Saturday night, it was a lot hotter than that at a recycling plant in north Everett! A big fire broke out there, sending a big stream of smoke racing through the sky. The smoke stayed low instead of billowing up because we had an atmospheric inversion thingy going on. Don, Smarty and I went out into the valley to get a good view of it. It was interesting the way the smoke stayed in a big stream and didn’t spread out. I attempted a few panoramic photos with my iPhone camera. One of them came out okay.

01f877cd8db7750bc3b233538d0d6589beaf8ee6c3

Even though the weather has cooled down now, I don’t have much good to say about life. I’m still struggling with severe fatigue and miserable inflammation that just won’t let up. I’ve taken so much Ibuprofen that I’ve developed tinnitus. If I would have known that could happen, or that taking the Ibuprofen would prove so futile, I obviously wouldn’t have taken it.

In case you’re wondering, yes, I know that turmeric/Curcumin is an anti-inflammatory and, yes, I am taking it, not that it seems to make the slightest difference.

Before I begin an angry rant about my food issues, (food allergies suck even more than tinnitus), I’d better get to Cee’s Share Your World questions!

What was one of your first moneymaking jobs (other than babysitting or newspaper delivery)? As soon as I graduated high school, I went to work as a housekeeper at Ross Lake Resort. Because the resort is so far away from civilization just getting there is quite an adventure. It was hard work but I loved being there in the mountains, so far away from everything.

Scan0033

What is your favorite month of the year? October. September is a very close second though and sometimes I end up enjoying September more, if it isn’t too hot.

What three things in nature do you find most beautiful? It’s hard to pick only three so I’m going to go with the top three things that make the area I live in so beautiful; trees, mountains and water.

DSC00725

List at least five of your favorite spices? (excluding salt and pepper) Cardamom, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and garlic. I hate having garlic breath but I love to add fresh garlic to things. The more the better!

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Last week I was so grateful that one of Daniel’s games got moved to the weekend so we didn’t haven’t back-to-back weeknight games. This week I should be looking forward to my birthday, which is on Saturday, but I’m having trouble summoning up any of those looking-forward-to feelings. I think I should have asked for an attitude adjustment for my birthday instead of journaling supplies!

27 thoughts on “Sharing My World – Week 23

  1. Happy Birthday!!! I’m still tired from the het. I’m grateful for the clouds and cooler weather coming back. I missed a qigong class because it was just too hot for me to be outside. It’s held in an old yoga building so the air conditioning in pretty nonexistent. I take aspirin for all my pain issues. It’s gentler on the tummy and help with blood circulation. I have a lot of inflammation too.

    1. I’m grateful for the clouds and cooler weather coming back too! It was a nice 52 degrees when I took the dog out for a walk this morning. I feel so much better when it’s this cool and crisp. I’ll try some aspirin for a few days and see if that helps with my inflammation. My blood tends to be on the thick side so some thinning in addition to the anti-inflammatory properties of aspirin may help. Enjoy the cool weather!

  2. Gorgeous colors in that first photo! Where is the one with the totem poles taken?

    It wasn’t my first real job, but my first job when I was completely on my own as an adult was in housekeeping at Sun Valley Resort in Idaho. I took a train and bus to get there, but it was adventurous in that I moved out of state for the first time since I was four.

    1. I took the photo with the totem poles at the park in Langley. Have you been there? It’s such a cute little town but since it’s a ways off the highway we usually don’t stop there when we go to Whidbey Island. Two years ago, we decided to stop there for lunch on our way back from Ft. Casey. It was such a fun town to walk around and the park has such great views of the sound and Cascades.

      I bet Sun Valley was a great first out of state adventure! I think being a housekeeper at Ross Lake was in many ways my favorite job. It was hard work, which I couldn’t even do now, but being at a resort for months was wonderful.

      1. I haven’t been to Whidbey Island in many years, but I’ll have to keep that park in mind if I get back that way sometime.

    1. Thank you! I’m trying to get myself excited for my birthday. All I want though is for my inflammation to go away and that’s something my family just can’t deliver!

    1. It’s maddening because some people swear by it and it seems like it should help with pain caused by inflammation. But it’s just not doing a thing. Neither are the rest of the expensive supplements I’m popping every day.

      1. Yeah. I don’t know about you, but sometimes I want to smack the people who say, I drink goat urine everyday and now I’m cured. Makes me feel like I’m not trying hard enough to be well.

    1. Thank you, Patti! Sadly, my journaling supplies won’t be here in time. Amazon, who is usually so fast, hasn’t even shipped them yet. At 46, I should just be a big girl and wait but I’m probably going to end up at Michael’s to buy something else to play with on my birthday!

    1. Thank you! It looks like we are back to our more usual cool, cloudy June weather for the forseeable future. There is some rain in the forecast but I welcome it!

      1. When you live in one of the cooler states and it gets too hot there is really nowhere else to go. Luckily here in Tasmania, also a cooler state if it does get hot like that it usually does not last too long.

  3. I didn’t find Tumeric helpful either…… (for my chronic inflammation & FM), but I know many people do. I suspect I didn’t keep it up long enough. When I try various natural alternatives, if it doesn’t work within a month, I ditch it. Ultimately, I think I’m worse in winter, because my diet seems more acidic as opposed to all the salads I eat in summer which are more alkaline.

    1. I’ve kept at the turmeric, taking all different kinds that are have been wonder cures for many people, but it just doesn’t seem to do anything for me. If my body wants to flip into a stubborn bout of inflammation, it seems like there just isn’t any way to stop it. Where do you feel your inflammation? I suspect mine is in the fascia in my back, shoulders, hips and upper arms and legs. My joints are fine. Occasionally, one will hurt but it never seems like there’s inflammation involved.

    1. Thank you for the birthday wishes! Someday I will write more about my experience at Ross Lake. I sure wish digital photography had existed then because it was such a beautiful place. Once there was a family of bears on the little peninsula right across from our cabin!

  4. Geez, an inversion means the temps are actually rising as you get higher up in the atmosphere, so that’s gotta be awfully hot for that high up! Our first batch of really hot air is coming as well… damn summer!

    Now I must see if I have any appropriate squirrels in my photo archive for Saturday…. 😉

    1. I didn’t even think about how hot it must have been way up high. We often have inversions but I usually only hear about them in the winter when it’s freezing down here and warm up in the mountains. I took a look at your weather on my weather app. Ugh! I feel bad for complaining about our two hot days. The squirrels will be knocking on your door so they can share your air conditioning!

  5. The smoke in that picture is freaky! The temperature here meandered its way up towards 20C yesterday which is quite hot enough, thank you, I don’t even know what 38C would feel like.

    1. 20C is hot enough for me too! We usually only have a few days a year that reach 32+C but the last few years we’ve had more and I really hate it. I’m a cool weather loving kind of gal!

Leave a Reply

