Share Your World

Sharing My World – Week 24

DSC00445-001

It’s cold and wet here in the Puget Sound region. Only 45 degrees here this morning and it’s been snowing up in the mountains. It feels more like January than June. Which is not a complaint, just an observation. In fact, I feel quite cheerful today even after getting caught in a sudden rain shower without my raincoat.

I thought I would break the ice on my blog with a round of Share Your World questions from Cee. How did it get to be Wednesday already anyway? I keep meaning to write blog posts, read blogs and participate in a few photo challenges but the days just keep flying by.

What is the most fun thing you did in school? Being a B school, we played games against schools in other really small towns that were really far away. The most fun was going to Friday Harbor or Orcas, in the San Juan Islands. This involved a long ferry ride and usually included time to explore the towns while waiting for the ferry.

What is your favorite type of dog?  (can be anything from a specific breed, a stuffed animal or character in a movie)  I’ve always especially adored yellow labs, probably because of their smiley, friendly-looking faces.

DSC00365

I’ve learned that those smiling faces can be deceptive though! Smarty’s smile draws people to him but he will snap at any strangers that reach out to try to pet him.

You are invited to a party that will be attended by many fascinating people you never met.  Would you attend this party if you were to go by yourself? Heck no! I wouldn’t even go if I had someone to go with me. Parties are not my thing. All those people and all that mingling and small talk that you’re supposed to do…*shudder* Pure torture, that’s what parties are for people as introverted as I am.

Complete this sentence:  Never In My Life Have I…. had a pedicure. I don’t like strangers touching me, I detest salons and I feel uncomfortable having people do things for me that I’m capable of doing myself. I worry about the increasing stiffness in my hips because I would hate to not be able to reach my own toes. 

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Last week, I was grateful to spend my birthday with Don, Smarty, Michael, Daniel and Don’s mom and dad. In the week coming up, which I’m counting as going from now until next Wednesday since it’s so late in the week, I’m most looking forward to school getting out. Since Michael started working, the house has been far too empty and quiet. It will be nice to have Daniel home for the summer. It will also be a relief that he made it through the year without us ending up in juvenile court. Seriously! He’s late to class so much that we’ve been getting threatening letters about truancy laws. Yesterday, he had an in school suspension that started because he was late. I hoped it would be the most awful, long, boring day ever so he would be motivated to not get an ISS again but he enjoyed it. :/

 

18 thoughts on “Sharing My World – Week 24

    1. We do have a lot in common! I’m surprised to find others who don’t get pedis. Almost everyone I know goes on and on about how wonderful they are, even people who don’t bother with hair color or makeup or anything. I thought I was alone with my plain, self-trimmed toenails!

    1. LOL! I wish I’d learned my lesson at one! But I kept trying, thinking I would eventually get the hang of enjoying them. Instead, they just became more torturous!

    1. If I knew someone I felt comfortable with, I would probably like it. I do envy other’s polka dotted toenail polish…just not enough to overcome my aversion to salons!

  1. I’m with you on parties too. I don’t r get invited to many which is good because I don’t really like them. Parties are not for introverts. Imagine an Introverts only party with everyone standing around on their own feeling awkward :-). Nobody touches my feet either!

    1. An introvert only party would be terribly quiet and awkward! Or, maybe it would be nice to have people to talk about real things too, instead of just making mindless small talk. I just can’t get myself to do the small talk thing. Part of my brain is thinking, “Come on, think of something to say!” And the other part is just blank. 🙂

  2. I’m not a party person (or any other social gathering) these days either. I’m hopeless at small talk. I used to dread all the staff functions at the boarding school I worked at for 16 years. I found the best thing to do was hand around a food plate, or if a morning tea, go pick up the coffee pot and take it around to ‘top up’ colleagues cups. I can talk to a stranger for 10-15 minutes, but usually get bored quickly. I’m not a people person, but good with babies and small children.

    I’ve been a solitary person all my life, but a glass (or two) of wine gives me more confidence.

    Being qualified in aromatherapy & massage in the early 1990s I am good at massage on other people, but don’t like it much myself. I have too many aches & pain (with FM) to enjoy being touched.

    1. I, too, feel more comfortable around a lot of people if I have a job to do, like pouring coffee or something. I’ve never been a people person either, always preferring the company of animals. It took me a long time to figure that out about myself though. I pretended to be social for years.

      I was getting massages for awhile. It could be quite painful with all of my tenders spots. I wouldn’t say it’s something I really enjoyed. It helped in some ways but made things worse in other ways.

  3. Smartie looks adorable and I am glad he lets people know he would prefer not to be touched by strangers. Proper dog etiquette is to walk up and simply say ” what a handsome dog!” not go touchy all over them. Sheeese! 😀

    1. So true! I’ve definitely learned that lesson with Smarty. He’s always let me love on him but he takes awhile to warm up to other people and anyone who moves too fast to heed his warnings gets snapped at. I’m definitely more cautious with other dogs since observing his behavior!

  4. I’ve never had a pedicure either! Everyone says they are soooo relaxing but, eh. I don’t wear open toed shoes so it’s not biggie for me to have less than perfect toenails 🙂

    1. I don’t like wearing open toed shoes either! I feel that toe cleavage, like boob cleavage, should be covered. At least for myself. I do sometimes wear sandals when it’s really hot but I don’t feel comfortable in them and am always glad when it cools down enough to put on real shoes. One reason I love cooler weather is so I can comfortably stay covered from my neck to the tip of my toes!

  5. I’ve never had a pedicure either and would not want one. I don’t let a lot of people touch my feet. 😀 Thanks Trisha for sharing. I’m liking this cooler weather. 😀

  6. Hey, I’ve never had a pedicure either (Says the person who uses a pair of scissors to cut his toenails a few times a year). I am quite jealous of your 45 degree morning! Yesterday I sat at a ballgame in 100 degree heat!

Leave a Reply

